Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: Castlevania (Read 2439 times)

Offline geco

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 6207
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 88.0 Firefox 88.0
    • View Profile
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #30 on: 2021.May.02. 18:37:07 »
The problem was that, the game unpacks only attributes for boss game, and overwrite my converted attributes, and after boss game it restores the attributes from another packed file, now those 2 packed attributes are converted also.
I found another bug in the saved game ( i created a save game state from memory from you snapshot :D ) boss game do not update saved game in memory, i had 2 choices:
1 do not modify on saved game setup, and copy the content to save game memory
2 modify content, and save save game memory also
I chose the 1st solution, it can cause some positioning issue after die if new checkpoint is not reached, but i did not meet serious positioning issue.

Offline SlashNet

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 686
  • Country: ua
  • Enterprise 128K | Cubietruck
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 90.0.4430.86 Chrome 90.0.4430.86
    • View Profile
    • Russian info about Enterprise
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #31 on: 2021.May.02. 21:34:45 »
Minor issue with savegames and palette.
After boss defeating (2-nd in my case) his dungeon got new colours - it's ok.

I've made save outside dungeon, die and respawn at last checkpoint in dungeon.
Then I load from manual saved game and get changed colours at ouside screen. But they will restore to correct if I go to another screen.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/yevxd7a7ucosps2/cv_b5_b2d_2.avi?dl=0

Offline geco

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 6207
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Linux Linux
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 89.0.4389.86 Chrome 89.0.4389.86
    • View Profile
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #32 on: 2021.May.02. 21:41:53 »
As i see the changed attributes in game tilemap remained on changed attributes of boss map, we can live with it.

Offline szipucsu

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 9070
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 88.0 Firefox 88.0
    • View Profile
    • Webnyelv.hu - Tanuljunk nyelveket!
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #33 on: 2021.May.03. 18:43:37 »
https://www.dropbox.com/s/yevxd7a7ucosps2/cv_b5_b2d_2.avi?dl=0
You can record demo from the Emulator too. It might be easier to do and upload here than a separate video.
100 SOUND SOURCE 3,STYLE 16,LEFT 16,RIGHT 64,SYNC 2
110 SOUND SOURCE 2,STYLE 128,PITCH 25.2,SYNC 2
120 SOUND PITCH 25,SYNC 2
Videos

Offline SlashNet

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 686
  • Country: ua
  • Enterprise 128K | Cubietruck
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 90.0.4430.86 Chrome 90.0.4430.86
    • View Profile
    • Russian info about Enterprise
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #34 on: 2021.May.03. 19:43:58 »
You can record demo from the Emulator too. It might be easier to do and upload here than a separate video.
I know. But loading of saved game doesn't working while recording demofile.
As I understand emulator can't work with external disk drives in rec demo mode.

Offline SlashNet

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 686
  • Country: ua
  • Enterprise 128K | Cubietruck
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 90.0.4430.86 Chrome 90.0.4430.86
    • View Profile
    • Russian info about Enterprise
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #35 on: 2021.May.03. 22:32:32 »
I think this bug is from original Spectrum version.
After killing last boss, his sprite just become invisible. If hit him, final sequence played again and again, and he still can hurt you.

Here snapshot with last kick for dracula, and two demos (bad ending).

Offline geco

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 6207
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Linux Linux
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 78.0 Firefox 78.0
    • View Profile
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #36 on: 2021.May.04. 08:55:53 »
oki, i will check it, probably at the weekend.
thx

Offline SlashNet

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 686
  • Country: ua
  • Enterprise 128K | Cubietruck
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 90.0.4430.86 Chrome 90.0.4430.86
    • View Profile
    • Russian info about Enterprise
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #37 on: 2021.May.04. 15:09:35 »
Only blue gradients in scrolls (start and final) is by design?
27163-027165-1

Offline SlashNet

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 686
  • Country: ua
  • Enterprise 128K | Cubietruck
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 90.0.4430.86 Chrome 90.0.4430.86
    • View Profile
    • Russian info about Enterprise
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #38 on: 2021.May.04. 15:13:51 »
After killing last boss, his sprite just become invisible. If hit him, final sequence played again and again, and he still can hurt you.

Author said that in Spectrum version this effect doesn't exist.

Offline geco

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 6207
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Linux Linux
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 78.0 Firefox 78.0
    • View Profile
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #39 on: 2021.May.04. 16:45:35 »
Only blue gradients in scrolls (start and final) is by design?
(Attachment Link) (Attachment Link)
Yes, and the scroll is faster, therefore the text goes over 3 times

Offline SlashNet

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 686
  • Country: ua
  • Enterprise 128K | Cubietruck
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 90.0.4430.86 Chrome 90.0.4430.86
    • View Profile
    • Russian info about Enterprise
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #40 on: 2021.May.04. 19:24:57 »
Scroll is very smooth. :smt023

Offline geco

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 6207
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 88.0 Firefox 88.0
    • View Profile
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #41 on: 2021.May.04. 19:36:21 »
Thx :) On EP128 there is a small vibration, because LPT changing routine is on a video segment, but i did not want to change segment allocation orders.
I checked Speccy version and i get the same behaviour like with EP version, i created a restored game in Speccy emu (dracula sprite is bad) from cv_b5_drd.ep128s , and there are 2 possibilities, end sequence if i do not move after last hit, and game over if i go to the flashing points, and i could not reproduce any of bad endings.

Sorry, i could reproduce 1st bad ending also in Speccy emu, just i did not press fire earlier after dracula was killed.
And i could reproduce 2nd bad ending also.
I will try to disable keyboard reading in this phase.
« Last Edit: 2021.May.04. 19:55:12 by geco »

Offline geco

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 6207
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 88.0 Firefox 88.0
    • View Profile
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #42 on: 2021.May.04. 21:59:56 »
Now player is not able to move if dracula bat sprite is killed, I created a save game also for testing, and it shows another small bug of this version of save, it seems boss sprites are also packed, and if i load a state from a place where the boss was not unpacked the sprite will be bad.
I recognized today, that there are 2 end sequence, this one i did not see before :D When I tested, i saw only the other where castle is destroyed.

Offline SlashNet

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 686
  • Country: ua
  • Enterprise 128K | Cubietruck
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 90.0.4430.86 Chrome 90.0.4430.86
    • View Profile
    • Russian info about Enterprise
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #43 on: 2021.May.04. 22:11:40 »
Yes. Today I've completed "good" ending. But anyway, bad ending is "canonical".

Snapshot from previous version:
* cv_b5_ge_d2d.ep128s (304.82 kB - downloaded 8 times.)
« Last Edit: 2021.May.04. 22:18:14 by SlashNet »

Offline geco

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 6207
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 88.0 Firefox 88.0
    • View Profile
Re: Castlevania
« Reply #44 on: 2021.May.08. 11:09:01 »
Now Boss sprites are unpacked after loaded game state, and i corrected another issue, if player died, the program copied player properties from FF00h also, which was not filled after game state loaded.