Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: SymbOS (Read 239459 times)

Offline geco

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 6744
  • Country: hu
    • Támogató Támogató
  • OS:
  • Linux Linux
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 45.0 Firefox 45.0
    • View Profile
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #780 on: 2016.November.26. 21:54:55 »
Is it possible one delay setting was missed?
There are 2 short and one long delay, I used delay setting based on CPU speed in Chessmaster conversion, I did not get back negative feedback, but it is possible it was not tested on all Speed.

Offline geco

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 6744
  • Country: hu
    • Támogató Támogató
  • OS:
  • Linux Linux
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 45.0 Firefox 45.0
    • View Profile
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #781 on: 2016.November.26. 22:04:53 »
Good idea, thanks for the hint Geco! That's how I did it for the old Boxsoft driver, will try it for the EnterMice driver now as well!
A static 5/8 delay didn't work for all kind of CPU speeds right now (or maybe I missed something).
Or probably the values should be bigger at 10 MHz :?:

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3394
  • Country: es
    • Támogató Támogató
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #782 on: 2016.November.27. 01:11:08 »
EnterMice adapts itself to the frequency of the host.

3, 2, 2, 2 delays where set by Zozo while testing the Exos mouse driver on a 10Mhz machine.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 818
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #783 on: 2016.November.27. 08:59:54 »
EnterMice isn't adapts. It's working on events&timeouts instead of wait states.
See timings table. By the way, can you correct the German version ?

Offline IstvanV

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 4825
  • OS:
  • Linux Linux
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 49.0 Firefox 49.0
    • View Profile
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #784 on: 2016.November.27. 10:38:03 »
In Bricky Prise, I use delays that are calculated from the measured clock frequency. Although the delay times are set somewhat conservatively, it is still faster on a 4 or 6 MHz machine than a hard-coded delay that is tuned for the fastest EP configuration that exists. :) It is not entirely clear from the documentation however if "Standby time for the next reading (counting from data issue): 14 μs" means that at least 39 us (25 + 14) wait is required between RTS state changes, but I assumed that is the case to be safe.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 818
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #785 on: 2016.November.27. 10:53:18 »
Yes exactly. The 14 μs is the time to the end of interrupt cycle in EnterMice. Only after this time, you can request next data.
It is important that the time between readings wasn't too long, because after 1500 μs data counter is reset to zero and followed another reading from mouse.

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3394
  • Country: es
    • Támogató Támogató
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #786 on: 2016.November.27. 14:07:17 »
I think it is best to release the 4Mhz working version. Then the genius here can fix the problems...

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3394
  • Country: es
    • Támogató Támogató
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #787 on: 2016.November.27. 15:50:14 »
The genius here.

Not counting me....

Offline Prodatron

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 253
  • Country: de
  • Back on the Z80
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.symbos.de
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #788 on: 2016.November.27. 18:14:21 »
After playing around with different values it seems, that it's working now for all types of CPU clocks. During booting SymbOS is measuring the CPU speed and prepares the wait-values for the EnterMice routines. It should use 3,3,3,... for 4MHz and 9,9,9,... for 10MHz machines (and something inbetween for 6 and 7,5MHz). Because of the automatic generation of the values some waits may be a little bit too long, but at least for 10MHz I really had to use 9,9,9,... all the time, and currently I am just glad that it's working now.

* SymbOS-EP.zip (366.31 kB - downloaded 329 times.)

Here is a DSK with the actual build of SymbOS 3.0. It is using the Extended Desktop, so it won't fully boot on machines with 128K only (just delete the SYMBOS.INI if you have 128K only).

16635-1

It seems to run fine on the Enterprise!
For the EP specific port of 3.0 there is only one item left on my todo list:
- debugging the FDC routines

Offline geco

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 6744
  • Country: hu
    • Támogató Támogató
  • OS:
  • Linux Linux
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 45.0 Firefox 45.0
    • View Profile
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #789 on: 2016.November.27. 19:26:38 »
Congratulation :smt041

Offline lgb

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3552
  • Country: hu
  • æðsta yfirmaður
  • OS:
  • Linux (Ubuntu) Linux (Ubuntu)
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
    • http://lgb.hu/
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #790 on: 2016.November.27. 19:47:36 »
Very nice! What is "extended desktop" if I can ask? Sorry, if I missed some topics, maybe, and it was already discussed somewhere :)

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3394
  • Country: es
    • Támogató Támogató
  • OS:
  • Unknown Unknown
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #791 on: 2016.November.27. 20:31:04 »
The extended desktop loads some extras at initiation. It is not related with resolution.

But Prodatron still has to extend the resolution to the max admited.

Offline Prodatron

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 253
  • Country: de
  • Back on the Z80
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.symbos.de
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #792 on: 2016.November.27. 20:43:36 »
Oh, seems that I didn't write about this here before (only mentioned the new Widgets in one post?).

The "extended desktop" is an optional module (working like an own app), which can be loaded during booting. It is replacing the desktop and startmenu management of SymbOS with some enhanced features.
- startmenu with nearly unlimited entries and nested submenus
- desktop with nearly unlimited icons; icon handling like in Win9x with auto alignment, property forms etc.
- widget support; you can place little widget apps directly onto the desktop (no own forms but they are part of the desktop itself); these could do things like the widgets you know from your smartphone (clock, cpu meter, weather widget w.i.p [erm yes, EP still needs an ethernet hardware - Bruce? :) ])

Here are some screenshots:

16638-0 16640-1 16644-2 16646-3 16648-4 16650-5 16652-6 16654-7 16656-8 16658-9 16660-10 16662-11

Not sure if I already posted something about the new help browser for SymbOS here:
16642-12
Edo and me started some HLP files for most of the existing apps, though they are still not completed. The new help file browser is quite similiar to the old one for Win9x with chapters, different font styles etc.

Hope you will like some of the new stuff.

Offline Prodatron

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 253
  • Country: de
  • Back on the Z80
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.symbos.de
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #793 on: 2016.November.27. 21:06:10 »
But Prodatron still has to extend the resolution to the max admited.
Yes, that's not planned for 3.0, as it requires some more work and will also split the EP port into two branches (normal and "power" version ;) ).

Offline lgb

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3552
  • Country: hu
  • æðsta yfirmaður
  • OS:
  • Linux (Ubuntu) Linux (Ubuntu)
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
    • http://lgb.hu/
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #794 on: 2016.November.27. 21:59:32 »
Hmmm, my old thought is to build a "smart phone" like entity :) with a Z80 or 65xx or something to show, there can be a solution where that damn menu not lags with multiple core CPUs on GHz scale with Gbytes of memory :) It seems SymbOS is quite a good candidate :) Seriously, it's not that hard, ie there are "GSM modules" some can even built some "cell phones" with a module like that and a low end 8 bit MCU only. Now with some decent display included etc, there can be some kind of "smart phone" feeling, surely without watching youtube HD videos etc too much :)