Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: SymbOS (Read 536025 times)

Offline Zozosoft

  • Global Moderator
  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 14733
  • Country: hu
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #390 on: 2014.November.27. 19:09:11 »
One more bug :oops:
SymbOS don't handle the C: and D: floppy drives.

I suggest at the start seek all four drive to Track 0 and check it is generate Track 0 signal? Which is not then it is not exist.

Offline Prodatron

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: de
  • Back on the Z80
    • http://www.symbos.de
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #391 on: 2014.November.27. 19:17:10 »
It's not a bug, it's a feature :lol:
Since I added HxC support for the Amstrad some weeks ago I changed C & D for the CPC (and later for the Enterprise, too) into "HxC direct SD access for drive A" and "HxC direct SD access for drive B".
I was quite sure that no one will use 3 or 4 floppy disc drives today anymore, so I decided to do it like this, as it saves a lot of additional code.

Offline Prodatron

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: de
  • Back on the Z80
    • http://www.symbos.de
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #392 on: 2014.November.27. 19:24:54 »
Nice, but a real hw test is very important [...] I just write this here, so people with the "real thing" should be keen enough to test if it is available :)
Somehow I am quite sure, that it will run on the real hardware, too :)
The core routine for reading the X/Y dif from the mouse was taken from the original source code posted by gflorez here. Everything else is like on the MSX, so I was already quite familiar with this stuff and think (and hope) it will work...

Offline Zozosoft

  • Global Moderator
  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 14733
  • Country: hu
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #393 on: 2014.November.27. 19:34:22 »
I was quite sure that no one will use 3 or 4 floppy disc drives today anymore
It is reported by user, who use! See the config. :-)

Can be the HXC support optional?

I think the best solution will be a Setup program or Config panel, or least INI file for define the floppy drives parameters.
Real drive or HXC, DD or HD, turbo modes, step rates.

Offline Prodatron

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: de
  • Back on the Z80
    • http://www.symbos.de
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #394 on: 2014.November.27. 20:08:46 »
Boxsoft mouse support (including mouse detection) seems to work now, please check the attachment.
Mouse or joystick have to be connected at "control 1".
You can try it here with JSEP:

http://ep.lgb.hu/jsep/demo.new/?disk=http://www.symbos.de/files/SymbOS-EP-Full.dsk
(type LOAD"SYM" after the EP booted)

Can anyone test this on the real hardware?

Regarding HxC support: Ok, it should be possible to make it configurable without too much work. There seem to be really cool power users on the EP! :)
(I am just curiouse: Is it more typically to have an HxC [with Zozos image selector :) ] or to have 4 drives connected to an EP?)

Offline Zozosoft

  • Global Moderator
  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 14733
  • Country: hu
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #395 on: 2014.November.27. 20:35:25 »
(I am just curiouse: Is it more typically to have an HxC [with Zozos image selector :) ] or to have 4 drives connected to an EP?)
I'm in both team :-) And where to count when two real drives and two HxC emulated drives used? :oops:

I know only 4 HxC EP user. And I think for the future the users will buy the direct SD interface for the EP, because will be more faster and comfortable. All Enterprise software are simple files on a FAT disks, then not need exact emulation of any disk image. And if anyone not have any storage device (just the tape player :-) ), for using HxC also need to find EXDOS card, which is ultra rare...

HxC will be great device when having a big collection of computers. It is need a lot of money to buy best storage device for each, and many machine use a special disk format, and the programs need to use the original disk image, then floppy emulation important. The HxC solve the problem for all :-)

Offline Zozosoft

  • Global Moderator
  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 14733
  • Country: hu
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #396 on: 2014.November.27. 21:26:01 »
Can anyone test this on the real hardware?
Working :smt038
SymbOS more comfortable with mouse :-D

On 4Mhz no problem, on 6Mhz sometimes (but very rare) "jumping", on 7.12Mhz sometimes "jumping", on 10Mhz always "jumping" the pointer.

I think some more wait cycles need to read cycles.


Offline Prodatron

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: de
  • Back on the Z80
    • http://www.symbos.de
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #397 on: 2014.November.27. 21:37:12 »
Thanks a lot for testing EP Grandmaster ZOZO!! :) :razz: :)
Seems that this has to be modified for faster EP machines?

Code: [Select]
       ld b,8
        call mosdly0     ;delay
[...]

;### MOSDLY0 -> do delay
mosdly0 nop
        nop
        nop
        dec b
        jr nz,mosdly0
        ret
(part of the original source)

Does EGI have the same problem?

Offline Zozosoft

  • Global Moderator
  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 14733
  • Country: hu
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #398 on: 2014.November.27. 21:45:51 »
Seems that this has to be modified for faster EP machines?
Yes.

Quote
Does EGI have the same problem?
Yes.

Offline Prodatron

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: de
  • Back on the Z80
    • http://www.symbos.de
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #399 on: 2014.November.27. 22:21:21 »
SymbOS contains a CPU speed test (it was originally done for the idle time measurement). I will try to use it for this issue!

Offline lgb

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3563
  • Country: hu
  • æðsta yfirmaður
    • http://lgb.hu/
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #400 on: 2014.November.28. 01:05:55 »
Boxsoft mouse support (including mouse detection) seems to work now, please check the attachment.
Mouse or joystick have to be connected at "control 1".
You can try it here with JSEP:

http://ep.lgb.hu/jsep/demo.new/?disk=http://www.symbos.de/files/SymbOS-EP-Full.dsk
(type LOAD"SYM" after the EP booted)

Nice :)

I've just noticed that SymbOS seems to freeze (eg mouse pointer does not move anymore) after eg having out of memory error, or when I start SymShell (with more memory given - so it's not out of memory error in that case!). Btw, RAM can be increased with URL parameter, so the above example with 1Mbyte of RAM (but I guess you already figured it out):

http://ep.lgb.hu/jsep/demo.new/?disk=http://www.symbos.de/files/SymbOS-EP-Full.dsk&mem=1024

Also I guess it would be nice to create an EXDOS.INI file, so loading would be automatic. Also appending the URL above with &autostart=yes starts JSep emulation without clicking on the "Run" button, just clicking in the URL would be enough then.
« Last Edit: 2014.November.28. 01:21:13 by lgb »

Offline Prodatron

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: de
  • Back on the Z80
    • http://www.symbos.de
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #401 on: 2014.November.28. 12:14:36 »
I've just noticed that SymbOS seems to freeze (eg mouse pointer does not move anymore) after eg having out of memory error, or when I start SymShell (with more memory given - so it's not out of memory error in that case!).
Yes, I noticed this in JSEP, too. Sometimes it happens when moving the mouse inside the start menu, sometimes when starting SymShell, but it doesn't depend on the amount of Ram. A small part of the system is still working, at least the idle process is running, which I can see when pressing the "Z80" button. But most other stuff is freezing. As this problem never occures in Ep128Emu I wonder if it is a JSEP-specific problem or a problem with the mouse routines.

Also I guess it would be nice to create an EXDOS.INI file, so loading would be automatic. Also appending the URL above with &autostart=yes starts JSep emulation without clicking on the "Run" button, just clicking in the URL would be enough then.
What do I have to write into the EXDOS.INI file? Just
LOAD"SYM"
or something else?

Offline Zozosoft

  • Global Moderator
  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 14733
  • Country: hu
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #402 on: 2014.November.28. 12:18:32 »
What do I have to write into the EXDOS.INI file? Just
LOAD"SYM"
or something else?
ECHO Starting SymbOS...
LOAD SYM

Offline Zozosoft

  • Global Moderator
  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 14733
  • Country: hu
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #403 on: 2014.November.28. 12:22:37 »
And another trick: if you rename the SYM to START, then at BASIC prompt enought just press F1 key.

Offline Prodatron

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: de
  • Back on the Z80
    • http://www.symbos.de
Re: SymbOS
« Reply #404 on: 2014.November.28. 12:31:03 »
Very nice! What would EP users prefer? The autostart or the F1 option?