Enterprise Forever

:UK => Other topics => Topic started by: Wolfgang on 2020.September.27. 19:46:25

Title: How can one switch between WP versions?
Post by: Wolfgang on 2020.September.27. 19:46:25
Beginner question:
EXDOS 2.4 ROM contains two WP versions (2.1 and 2.6). How can I load each version?
:WP seems to load WP2.6

 
 
Title: Re: How can one switch between WP versions?
Post by: gflorez on 2020.September.27. 21:30:56
I think there is only one version, 2.6. The text "WP version 2.1" is added by the EXOS Rom, because WP is included in the internal Rom, and it can't be listed on a :HELP command like the other "normal" Roms found in memory.

Of course, I could be wrong.

But you have a lot of advantages with WP 2.6 over 2.1, it starts directly on 80 col, and has been translated(German, Hungarian, Spanish, etc). Also, some Star printer commands were added(bad for me... I have an Epson printer...)
Title: Re: How can one switch between WP versions?
Post by: dangerman on 2020.September.28. 10:39:46
I think that 2.6 was designed to replace 2.1 so you can't actually call it with an EXOS command. 2.6 does everything the original does so there's really no reason to use the original.

However the code is still there in the ROM so you can always call it directly if you want. For example, from BASIC...

Code: [Select]
CALL USR(62907,0)
Title: Re: How can one switch between WP versions?
Post by: Wolfgang on 2020.September.28. 10:53:07
I think that 2.6 was designed to replace 2.1 so you can't actually call it with an EXOS command. 2.6 does everything the original does so there's really no reason to use the original.

However the code is still there in the ROM so you can always call it directly if you want. For example, from BASIC...

Code: [Select]
CALL USR(62907,0)
Thanks, this works.
Not that I would be using it anyway, it is more curiosity than anything else. :)


Title: Re: How can one switch between WP versions?
Post by: gflorez on 2020.September.28. 15:25:28
Code: [Select]
CALL USR(62907,0)

Great to know it, thanks.
Title: Re: How can one switch between WP versions?
Post by: szipucsu on 2020.September.28. 21:04:55
Code: [Select]
CALL USR(62907,0)
How did you find out the number 62907?
Title: Re: How can one switch between WP versions?
Post by: dangerman on 2020.September.28. 23:41:28
How did you find out the number 62907?

Years ago I think I worked it out by disassembling the EXOS 2.1 ROM. But more recently, I "rediscovered" it by using the built-in debugger in the excellent EP128emu.
Title: Re: How can one switch between WP versions?
Post by: gflorez on 2020.September.29. 00:33:35
Is that address the WP2.1 entry on the list of Roms found?

I imagine that WP2.6 usurps the :WP command from the WP2.1 version. Owning the same start command, the 2.6 version is always firstly executed, because is the first of both versions on the Rom list.
Title: Re: How can one switch between WP versions?
Post by: geco on 2020.September.29. 08:46:15
Great finding, i checked what is called, and a small correction CALL USR(62905,0) should be used instead of CALL USR(62907,0), because it skips setting type of EXOS reset, it jumps to
Code: [Select]
   LD    C,A
    EXOS 0
and skips
Code: [Select]
   LD    A,60h

Now it works, because A register contains always 7Fh, but if it contains ex 80h a Hard reset would occur.
Title: Re: How can one switch between WP versions?
Post by: dangerman on 2020.September.29. 10:32:47
Great finding, i checked what is called, and a small correction CALL USR(62905,0) should be used instead

Aha - good point! I just looked at it again and you are absolutely right. Thanks for the correction.
Title: Re: How can one switch between WP versions?
Post by: Zozosoft on 2020.October.01. 10:50:17
If you have Zozotools in your configuration the :RL 02h command will remove 2.6 from the ROM list.
Anyway 2.1 is planned to be fully removed. But I am thinking about adding :WP21 command, to start WP in the old looking.
Title: Re: How can one switch between WP versions?
Post by: gflorez on 2020.October.01. 14:22:55
Better if you remove it completely, to save space for your great modifications.

Edit: Ah, now I understand, you can launch WP2.6 with the old look.