ENTERPRISE KLUB
2019. május 25., 1055 Budapest, Nyugati tér 9. 14-19 óráig
Részletek
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: Enterprise All-In-One interface (Read 19310 times)

Offline lgb

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3496
  • Country: hu
  • æðsta yfirmaður
  • OS:
  • Linux (Ubuntu) Linux (Ubuntu)
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 37.0 Firefox 37.0
    • View Profile
    • http://lgb.hu/
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #30 on: 2015.April.23. 13:33:58 »
Quote
Other suggestion for EP64: unfortunatelly most of EP128 programs don't allocate the memory from the EXOS :cry: using direct segment address from F8h-
Then needed to put 64K memory expansion to F8-FBh for make EP64 compatible with EP128. Then the suggestion are EP64 jumper which is move 64K of one SRAM to this area.

But isn't it the problem with turbo, that the 64K extension panel in EP128 is often too slow and must be replaced? Then with "tons" of memory I would be more happy to remove the internal RAM expansion, or making the all-in-one interface an internal thing, basically placed instead of the internal memory expander PCB. Well, or maybe this project's goal is for having an external interface more, and not internal modification too much ......

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 758
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 37.0 Firefox 37.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #31 on: 2015.April.23. 14:08:24 »
With buffer it is still send the FFh to the bus when the socket is empty and make a collosion on the data bus. At this mode need a enable jumpers for each socket which is can disable the bus drive and the chip enable (then not needed really remove the chip).
You're right. I have to add a configuration jumpers.

Anyway I really don't know more ROM programs than 512K :oops: I suggest the secondary ROM socket with jumpers for FLASH/SRAM mode.
OK. As a second ROM can be pseudo-ROM emulated by SRAM.
Here, you probably will need to do a registry that has the ability to lock the write.
Otherwise, when the computer will know that it is a ROM ?

Other suggestions which is make the address decoding more complex :-)
I have to think about it and figure out whether the logic will fit on a single chip GAL.

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13346
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 37.0 Firefox 37.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #32 on: 2015.April.23. 14:22:58 »
Otherwise, when the computer will know that it is a ROM ?
My Quick Test first check the ROM header and if it is present, then the RAM test not run on this segment. Than any normal RAM segment can be used for ROM simulation.
Similar thing, the RAMDISK also can be preserved.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 758
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 37.0 Firefox 37.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #33 on: 2015.April.23. 19:01:21 »
Without significantly complicating can do this:
00-03: onboard ROM
10-13,20-23,30-33,40-43,50-53,60-63,70-73: Flash ROM (standard ROM extensions segments)
80-83 (jumper switched on 04-07): Flash ROM
80-83: RAM as ROM when Flash switched to cartridge segment
90-93,A0-A3,B0-B3,C0-C3,D0-D3,E0-E3,F0-F3: RAM as ROM (standard ROM extensions segments)
9C-9F,AC-AF,BC-BF,CC-CF,DC-DF,EC-EF: unused
F8-FB: internal RAM (jumper mapped on external RAM)
FC-FF: onboard RAM
others not listed above: RAM (2.5MB - 64KB at F8-FB)

It seems strange, but such an arrangement does not require a complicated method of addressing.
Simply connect the address lines A18-A20 of Enterprise to address lines A16-A18 of the memories, and decode chip addresses with the A16, A17 and A21.
Wasted only 64 KB of RAM, if internal memory expansion is installed.
What do You think about it ?

Offline Tuby128

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 920
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 21.0 Firefox 21.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #34 on: 2015.April.23. 19:59:55 »
Hello Mr. Pear,

 I am courious, which kind of PCB CAD program are you using to make the boards. And which company creates the board for you? May I ask how much does a board cost in Dollar or Eur, like that one you posted before? Here in Hungary an average 2 sided board [100X150mm] costs ca. 60-90 Euro with solder mask, via plating, white print etc.

 Thank you for your answer!

Offline ssr86

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 359
  • Country: pl
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.2 Windows NT 6.2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 37.0 Firefox 37.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #35 on: 2015.April.24. 04:13:53 »
It is a wish list from a non professional user. Some are meaningless some are impossible.
And todays some are obsolete (IDE, RS232...).

My today wish list :-)
[...]
- external 4x8 bit DAC, connected to sound input lines. It is already supported by DTM player
- AY chip, connected to sound input lines. Will be usefull for Spectrum emulator.
- SID chip, connected to sound input lines. For the SID Player.
- will be great if these 3 sound devices can be used in same time :-) (+Dave)
[...]
I think two Daves would be good enough. You could do chip metal with that (using 4 channels for getting two guitar sounds):twisted:  
More unique and more enterprise-spirited...
But Daves are rare compared to Sids, Pokeys and AY... so this would need a "remake" of the chip...

Only a week is impressive.....
I have no clue about electronics (despite having a electronics-hobbyist father), so to me it sounds veeery impressive (especially looking at the prefossional-looking outcome):)
I guess this isn't just a hobby for pear...(?)

Here in Hungary an average 2 sided board [100X150mm] costs ca. 60-90 Euro with solder mask, via plating, white print etc.
...looks like quite an expensive hobby:(
« Last Edit: 2015.April.24. 04:52:30 by ssr86 »

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 758
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 37.0 Firefox 37.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #36 on: 2015.April.24. 06:33:07 »
Just Pear, enough :) Nick comes from my name, which in Polish means roughly "pear".

Currently I'm using DipTrace. Up to 300 pins this program is free for non-commercial use.
I can recommend - very convenient to operate. I plan to purchase the Standard version (1000 pins).
Cost of production of small series PCBs in Poland are very similar.
That's why my projects plates are manufactured in China. Orders made up by the website.
Contrary to what some people write, the quality is very good and does not differ from European production.
In contrast, the prices are about five times lower. And it's starting with the shipment. On the website is calculator.
In return, you have to wait a little longer (about 3-4 weeks from sending the project to receive the finished PCB via standard mail).

I guess this isn't just a hobby for pear...(?)
Well, yes and no.
Electronics I have been dealing with a 10 year old. I finished school and studied electronics.
But unfortunately I do not work in my profession.

...looks like quite an expensive hobby:(
Yes, but if not now when ? :)

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2566
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 37.0 Firefox 37.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #37 on: 2015.April.24. 08:08:19 »
Don't worry, it makes adding more illusion on this.

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13346
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 37.0 Firefox 37.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #38 on: 2015.April.24. 09:09:57 »
It seems strange, but such an arrangement does not require a complicated method of addressing.

What do You think about it ?
Interesting idea! The problem: with this method hard to empty address space when needed cooperation with other expansion. Probably all memory ICS- needed to disabled :oops:

For the original, with 74HCT138 just two 74HCT151 needed to add for the jumpering.
For the A-B-C selection pins go A16-A17-A18. To the 8 input pins go the chip enable signal for the ROM, the 20-3Fh one. Output are the CE for the Flash ROM.
Then one input pin are for one 64K area of the ROM.
Input 1 will be jumperable for 00-1Fh/20-3Fh signal, then can be enabled the cartridge emulation.
For the RAM also similar, need Input 6 jumperable, for example 40-5Fh/E0-FFh signals, then 58-5Bh can be moved to F8-FBh

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 758
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 37.0 Firefox 37.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #39 on: 2015.April.24. 10:02:28 »
If I know that I have to leave free segments for other extensions, then I guess I'm able to do it.
The only problem is that even just a little know the Enterprise.
That is why I am so glad that I finally came across this forum :)

What are existent extensions which segments need ?
Besides, after which on the other cards to mount additional ROMs available with 512KB Flash ?
I think they can be turned off for the other cards?
« Last Edit: 2015.April.24. 10:08:29 by pear »

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13346
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 37.0 Firefox 37.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #40 on: 2015.April.24. 19:57:11 »
which segments need ?
00-FFh :-D
Many different configurations exist, for example machines with internal 192K,320K,512K,576K,1088K or 1088K with different mapping memory.
Then I think the maximum flexibility for "mega memory card" will be a good option.
My idea: start with the 74HCT138 decoding. Each outputs can be disabled (8x jumpers or DIP switches).

First SRAM addressed with additional 74HCT151:
Input 0: E0-FFh signal
Input 1: E0-FFh/00-1Fh
Input 2,3,4,5: 00-1Fh
Input 6: 00-1Fh/E0-FFh
Input 7: 00-1Fh
Result: SRAM at E0-E7h,08-1Fh. The second 64K can be remapped to cartridge area on expanded machine where the Exh used, but the cartridge don't used.
18-1Bh can be remapped to F8-FBh for Enterprise 64

FLASH ROM also with 74HCT151, 24-27h can be remapped to 04-07h as I wrote previously.

SRAM2 at 40-5Fh
SRAM3 at 60-7Fh
SRAM4 at 80-9Fh
SRAM5 at A0-BFh
SRAM6 at C0-DFh
One of these (I suggest SRAM2) with Flash ROM pinout, and with jumpers for replace Pin 29 and 31 (WE  at different location on FLASH and SRAM), then second FLASH can be installed.
« Last Edit: 2015.April.24. 20:13:45 by Zozosoft »

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13346
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 37.0 Firefox 37.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #41 on: 2015.April.29. 15:56:27 »
Werner suggested this, but I'm also thinking about it:
8-bit CF interface, instead the very complicated 16 bit IDE card.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 758
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Unknown Unknown
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 37.0 Firefox 37.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #42 on: 2015.April.29. 17:02:34 »
In such a configuration, there is a complete capacity CF card, or only half?

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2566
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 37.0 Firefox 37.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #43 on: 2015.April.29. 17:47:15 »
And, can it work with a CF to SD adapter?

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13346
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Unknown Unknown
  • Browser:
  • Opera 9.80 (Opera Mini 7.6.40234) Opera 9.80 (Opera Mini 7.6.40234)
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Enterprise All-In-One interface
« Reply #44 on: 2015.April.29. 19:25:58 »
Full capacity.