Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: Creating EXDOS card clone (Read 32058 times)

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 786
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #150 on: 2018.August.14. 21:02:42 »
The assembled card without ROM and WD1772 is 45 EUR.
A complete card costs 64 EUR.
Previously, it was 60 EUR, but the new lot of WD1772 chips cost me twice as much as the previous one (15 USD/pcs) :(

I have only two last cards yet from this batch.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 786
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #151 on: 2018.September.02. 13:55:46 »
I ordered a dozen more PCBs.
It should be enough.

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13531
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #152 on: 2018.September.02. 15:51:11 »
I ordered a dozen more PCBs.
It should be enough.
:smt038

Offline szalai56

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 278
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 64.0 Firefox 64.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #153 on: 2019.January.05. 15:28:42 »
Hi pear!
I should have a floppy controller without wd. What a plug it would be because I would ask for it from gflorez to the expansion card.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 786
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 64.0 Firefox 64.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #154 on: 2019.January.05. 15:46:37 »
I don't understand what exactly you mean.
You mean something like that ?

Offline szalai56

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 278
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 64.0 Firefox 64.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #155 on: 2019.January.05. 17:36:26 »
Yes, I have to ask for this supplement from gflorez.
I'm writing a private message.

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13531
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 66.0 Firefox 66.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #156 on: 2019.May.19. 15:34:44 »
The price of the WD1772 chip has increased to a ridiculous level.
WD1770 and VL1772 also can be used.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 786
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 66.0 Firefox 66.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #157 on: 2019.May.19. 15:57:54 »
Same. Prices start at $ 25 per piece right now. In addition, it is becoming increasingly difficult to access.
I'm starting to think about a replacement in CPLD or FPGA.

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13531
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 66.0 Firefox 66.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #158 on: 2019.May.19. 18:27:05 »
Same. Prices start at $ 25 per piece right now. In addition, it is becoming increasingly difficult to access.
I see VL1772 for a 12.95€, WD1770 for a 5-10$ on Ebay.
Quote
I'm starting to think about a replacement in CPLD or FPGA.
Anyway will be good idea!

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 786
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 66.0 Firefox 66.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #159 on: 2019.May.23. 18:45:20 »
I see VL1772 for a 12.95€, WD1770 for a 5-10$ on Ebay.Anyway will be good idea!
I bought 10 pieces of VL1772 on eBay for 15 EUR/pc.
I received the parcel today and checked all the chips. At first glance, they work - they read floppy disks correctly.
Unfortunately, ALL of them can't properly format a floppy disk.
You have been warned :evil:

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13531
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 66.0 Firefox 66.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #160 on: 2019.May.23. 20:10:32 »
Unfortunately, ALL of them can't properly format a floppy disk.
What happen with my FAFO?

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 786
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 66.0 Firefox 66.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #161 on: 2019.May.23. 20:37:54 »
No difference. Even "on hearing" is something wrong when formatting.
A good chip walks along paths at regular intervals.
Defective sometimes stops for longer over one path, and sometimes it quickly skips several.
At the end of the formatting, the message "Sector not found".

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13531
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 66.0 Firefox 66.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #162 on: 2019.May.23. 21:39:25 »
This one working:
23511-0
23513-1

And already see dozens in EXDOS cards under the decades.

Only one serie will be strange about 26-27 years ago: it is don't format with EXDOS command, says Not Ready at the start. But worked well with FAFO.

When EXDOS 1.4 developed I wanted to retest this problem, but don't find any of these chips, all worked flawlessly. Still will be interesting for EXDOS 3 development :-)

What will be happen with these chips? Can you send back?
If no, then can you send me one for testing?
I also have a ZX Spectrum SpeccyDOS and Atari ST, both with 177x chip.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 786
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 67.0 Firefox 67.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #163 on: 2019.May.24. 05:52:55 »
But I still have more than a dozen pieces of functional VL1772 (Taiwan production).
The inscriptions look similar to your picture.

However, these below do not work (Korea production).

In Atari and ZX Spectrum also do not work.
Similar symptoms - uneven transition between tracks.
A colleague bought 20 pieces :|

I want to return them. I lodged complaint. I am waiting for a response
« Last Edit: 2019.May.24. 05:56:13 by pear »

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13531
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 67.0 Firefox 67.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #164 on: 2019.May.24. 09:29:55 »
It is crazy :-( Then need to avoid Korean version...

It is looks similar story to Made in Philippines Z80 CPUs.