ENTERPRISE KLUB
2019. május 25., 1055 Budapest, Nyugati tér 9. 14-19 óráig
Részletek
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: Creating EXDOS card clone (Read 24574 times)

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2560
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 47.0 Firefox 47.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #45 on: 2016.July.27. 14:22:42 »
You have to associate to the Spanish web page to talk with them. Probably they accept to make one more for you. They don't profit on the project.

But that clone is only an EXDOS card, nothing more. Pear plans are more long term but also with full equipment. Surely  more expensive because they are more complex, but he charge very little for his efforts...


« Last Edit: 2016.July.27. 14:34:22 by gflorez »

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 757
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Unknown Unknown
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 47.0 Firefox 47.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #46 on: 2016.July.27. 19:08:32 »
My EXDOS card is ready (I have 2 pieces on stock).
After the vacation I will show a new project: EXDOS + RAM extension + FDD emulator (USB stick) with LCD.

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2560
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 47.0 Firefox 47.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #47 on: 2016.July.27. 22:14:38 »
That sounds very good...

Soon you will have options for everybody.

Offline sinclair200

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Mozilla compatible Mozilla compatible
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #48 on: 2016.August.19. 22:54:42 »
What is a "Speccy Divide"?
But anyway, it's nice :-)
This is the divide, an HD interface for the Spectrum:
« Last Edit: 2017.September.24. 00:49:55 by sinclair200 »

WANTED: SAM COUPE

Offline sinclair200

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Mozilla compatible Mozilla compatible
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #49 on: 2016.August.19. 23:26:13 »
Deputy for which you need it, labels made by me, for the ExDOS controller and the Basic cartridge.




« Last Edit: 2017.September.24. 00:55:42 by sinclair200 »

WANTED: SAM COUPE

Offline SlashNet

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 366
  • Country: ua
  • Enterprise 128K | Cubietruck
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 49.0.2623.110 Chrome 49.0.2623.110
    • View Profile
    • Russian info about Enterprise
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #50 on: 2016.August.20. 14:42:17 »
Image for basic cartridge I have in vector.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 757
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 48.0 Firefox 48.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #51 on: 2016.August.21. 17:03:34 »
Something like that.
EXDOS controller, 1MB of RAM, 512KB Flash and built-in FDD emulator drive with display (based on Gotek).
This is a preliminary draft and not yet counted the cost.
Recently, I have little time, so possible production time, it's probably early next year.

A few questions before I continued to work.
I used 8 MHz clock signal from the connector Enterprise.
Is it better to equip the card with its own generator ?

I also think about bridge-through connector on the right side, you can connect additional cards, but then probably the PCB will have to be 4-layers, which is more expensive.
Necessary ?

Offline sinclair200

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 52.0.2743.116 Chrome 52.0.2743.116
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #52 on: 2016.August.21. 19:54:39 »
Indeed, they work fine. Seems that 74LS38 were used instead 7438 and they're giving some problems. He replaced two of three with real 7438 and the card looked more stable, he's now waiting for some 7438 to keep testing with all three replaced. The card is in a very alpha stage tho...

I think that once the prototype works, some optimizations will be performed on it.

I managed after several tests with 3.5 PC floppy drives that worked me luxury Retrowiki controller unit with double MicroPeripheals the QL .....

Yo he conseguido tras varias pruebas con disqueteras de PC de 3,5 que me funcionase de lujo, la controladora de Retrowiki con la unidad doble de MicroPeripheals del QL.....

WANTED: SAM COUPE

Offline sinclair200

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 52.0.2743.116 Chrome 52.0.2743.116
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #53 on: 2016.August.21. 20:36:30 »
Something like that.
EXDOS controller, 1MB of RAM, 512KB Flash and built-in FDD emulator drive with display (based on Gotek).
This is a preliminary draft and not yet counted the cost.
Recently, I have little time, so possible production time, it's probably early next year.

A few questions before I continued to work.
I used 8 MHz clock signal from the connector Enterprise.
Is it better to equip the card with its own generator ?

I also think about bridge-through connector on the right side, you can connect additional cards, but then probably the PCB will have to be 4-layers, which is more expensive.
Necessary ?
Your work is admirable, but the screen makes me jump tears ......
am very purist .......

WANTED: SAM COUPE

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 757
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 48.0 Firefox 48.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #54 on: 2016.August.22. 08:56:30 »
I'm not sure I understand correctly.
You cried in front of a monitor with happiness, whether your eyes are watering when you see such projects ? ;D
With what exactly I exaggerated in pure EP project ? :shock:

Online Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13341
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 48.0 Firefox 48.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #55 on: 2016.August.22. 09:04:58 »
My question: why is it important to use floppy interface and floppy emulator hw between the Enterprise and the mass storage? :oops:
« Last Edit: 2016.August.28. 10:28:53 by szipucsu »

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 757
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 48.0 Firefox 48.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #56 on: 2016.August.22. 09:14:51 »
You can connect classic floppy drive as a second.

Online Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13341
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 48.0 Firefox 48.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #57 on: 2016.August.22. 10:54:29 »
Why is floppy needed at all? :oops:
On other computers (CPC, Spectrum +3, Amiga, Atari ST, etc) lots of floppy oriented programs exist which only run from floppy, because they handle the disks directly. But on the Enterprise the programs use EXOS/EXDOS file system, not caring about the hw level of storage.
You can easily expand the EXDOS with storage drivers. I think the easiest solution would be to use CF cards, because these have a native 8 bit interface, then don't need any complex hw.
« Last Edit: 2016.August.28. 10:31:48 by szipucsu »

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 757
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 48.0 Firefox 48.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #58 on: 2016.August.22. 11:05:32 »
So, then FDD emulator falls.
Going forward, the floppy controller, falls too or stay ?

Offline Tutus

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 389
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 48.0 Firefox 48.0
    • View Profile
    • Enterpress News
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #59 on: 2016.August.22. 11:09:43 »
We prefer the FlexiBridge, IDE-CF and RAM-Flash-Clock cards are welcome :oops: