Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: Your Enterprise configuration? (Read 150387 times)

Offline szipucsu

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 9463
  • Country: hu
    • Támogató Támogató
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 70.0 Firefox 70.0
    • View Profile
    • Webnyelv.hu - Tanuljunk nyelveket!
Re: Your Enterprise configuration?
« Reply #165 on: 2019.December.04. 22:21:08 »
http://www.muzeumkomputerow.edu.pl/
I don't understand much of this page, only some words. My favourite word is "muzeum" which is almost the same in most languages. Even in Hungarian: múzeum. Are there any forum members who use a different word for this in their language?
100 SOUND SOURCE 2,STYLE 128,PITCH 25.2,SYNC 1
110 SOUND PITCH 25,SYNC 1
120 ! Videos

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 818
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 70.0 Firefox 70.0
    • View Profile
Re: Your Enterprise configuration?
« Reply #166 on: 2019.December.05. 07:29:32 »
Is it working now?
Yes, it is partially working. There is no cartridge and the keyboard does not work.
There is a colorful picture via the RGB connector. I haven't checked the modulator yet.

The bugfixed second version of Nick (08-47) doesn't need it.
My guess is someone swapped the motherboards with a EP64 machine. Motherboard screws are also missing! Probably the alufoil pack is also missing which makes the GND contact at the modulator to the case metal painting. Speaker factory glued?
Yes, Nick in version 08-47, Dave 08-05.
Speaker glued to the housing.
No alufoil pack.

Which EXOS version is installed?
I don't know yet. Is it possible to check without a keyboard ?

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 14299
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 71.0 Firefox 71.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Your Enterprise configuration?
« Reply #167 on: 2019.December.05. 09:00:09 »
I don't know yet. Is it possible to check without a keyboard ?
Version displayed during the memory test. And the copyright message at the ENTERPRISE logo screen: 1984: EXOS 2.0, 1985: EXOS 2.1
Another sign: EXOS 2.0 forgot to set border to black at power on. Then random colored border displayed during the memory test.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 818
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 70.0 Firefox 70.0
    • View Profile
Re: Your Enterprise configuration?
« Reply #168 on: 2019.December.05. 10:16:21 »
Another sign: EXOS 2.0 forgot to set border to black at power on. Then random colored border displayed during the memory test.
Then this is EXOS 2.0.

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 14299
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 71.0 Firefox 71.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Your Enterprise configuration?
« Reply #169 on: 2019.December.05. 10:59:57 »
Then this is EXOS 2.0.
Then I'm sure it is a EP64 board. Probably someone moved from broken but working EP64 to a non working EP128.

Offline dawlane

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • OS:
  • Linux Linux
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 103.0.0.0 Chrome 103.0.0.0
    • View Profile
Re: Your Enterprise configuration?
« Reply #170 on: 2022.July.01. 23:37:08 »
Hello Everyone

With me being a new member here I'd thought I'd start with posting details of my machine first.

It's a standard PAL EP64 with an issue 4 board, S/N 031830, with EXDOS 2.0.
I bought this off eBay a fair few years back and looked like it was very rarely used with it being boxed and still in it's plastic packing, plus the warranty sticker was still intact, so nobody has ever been inside this computer since it left the factory. It came boxed and complete with PSU, manuals, demo tape, all the standard cables and IS-Basic cartridge.

The only things that I have done to this machine recently, is replaced the Philips capacitors with Visay Axial and Nichion Radial brands, TR2 with a BC337/16 and all the voltage regulators. I'm currently waiting for a new keyboard membrane to arrive. I don't know which version of the NICK is installed with the factory heat sink still being tightly glued on, but at a guess I suspect it's the earlier version. After around five minutes, using the Fractals on the demo tape; I'm seeing random yellow pixels flashing on and off to the right of any drawn pixel drawn. Goes away if I blow a can of Dust Off onto the heat sink for a few seconds. Not something I would have noticed on an old CRT Television via the RF cable, but do when using a monitor cable. So it would be much appreciated if anyone can let me know a safe way to remove the old heat sink and glue and a possible more modern replacement for the heat sink.
« Last Edit: 2022.July.06. 16:52:25 by dawlane »

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3381
  • Country: es
    • Támogató Támogató
  • OS:
  • Windows 8.1 Windows 8.1
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 101.0 Firefox 101.0
    • View Profile
Re: Your Enterprise configuration?
« Reply #171 on: 2022.July.02. 12:44:35 »
Hello, welcome Dawlane.

You are probably right, the 64KB models were built with the defective earlier Nick. But the defect has also some degrees, not showing itself on a common use. Even so, it will give you a lot of enjoyment. If the cooper shield is firmly glued, maybe it is a good decision to leave it there.... You will not gain a lot better performance with a modern heat-sink....

It seems that you have some skills. I recommend you to do the internal Eprom mod, to install the Zozo's modified EXOS Rom. The EXOS 2.0 version that came with your EP is slightly incompatible with the common 2.1 EXOS version they fitted on the 128 model, and also some other errors have been fixed by Zozo. 

You can even put an internal expansion memory, there are free gerbers to make it one yourself.

Even without a massive storage device attached(SD cartridge, floppy controller SymbiFace3), you can still load programs by tape, for example from a PC audio output. It will be slow, but the EP will work the same once the game or program loaded.