ENTERPRISE KLUB
2019. szeptember 7., 1055 Budapest, Nyugati tér 9. 14-19 óráig
Részletek
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: HxC manager - garbled boot screen - do I have the right HXCSDFE.CFG (Read 1441 times)

Offline John Fante

  • User
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: dk
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6 Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.84 Chrome 68.0.3440.84
    • View Profile
I am using HxC manager but have something I think is a problem but that maybe a "feature" :-)

When I boot up HxC manager the program only displays one of the directories and there is a lot of garble:

HXC-boot

Then I go down in the directory and up again and not it shows the root content as it should:

HXC-Root

The HxC works and mounts disks fine on both a: and b:

I have compared my HXCSDFE.CFG file (taken from the firmware as it advises to) to others here on the forum and can not see any difference.

I have followed advice from this thread regarding pins on the HxC. I am using a twisted cable.

I am running the latest beta firmware.

Is this how it should be? :-)

Online Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13429
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Is possible my bugs :oops:
Can you make a VHD of your SDCARD?

Offline John Fante

  • User
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: dk
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6 Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.84 Chrome 68.0.3440.84
    • View Profile
Is possible my bugs :oops:
Can you make a VHD of your SDCARD?

Thank you for looking into it :-)

Here my SD card is attached as a .img and here as .vhd.

Both created on Windows 7.

Offline John Fante

  • User
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: dk
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6 Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.99 Chrome 67.0.3396.99
    • View Profile
Is possible my bugs :oops:
Can you make a VHD of your SDCARD?

Things are beginning to get a bit strange up here ... :-)

Yesterday - after I posted the dumps of the SD-card - HxC manager suddenly started to not be able to mount disks (I had been able to do that without a problem for the last couple of days). Or to be more precise: In HxC Manager it looks like it is mounting the disks fine but when I pres F1 (or STOP for that matter) and go back to basic the computer says that the disk is not ready.

I have made a short film here.

When I use the display and bottoms on the HxC the disks are mounted without any problem.

I have tried formatting the card again and also tried another card. Same situation.

Furthermore I am not sure if this is related to the new 256K ROM that you where so kind to make so that Pear could burn it.

The reason is that Exdos is not loaded when I start the machine. I can not :dir or :exdos. I have to load HxC manger or EPdos to get Exdos. Is this normal?

Sorry for asking all of theese questions but this error is rather strange.
« Last Edit: 2018.August.05. 16:03:30 by John Fante »

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2605
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Linux Linux
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
Clean the Edge connector with a contact cleaner spray. Probably it is a false contact.

It also aids releasing and pluging the card several times.

Observe the pins alignement.


Online Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13429
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
I will try to build same config and look what will happening...

Offline John Fante

  • User
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: dk
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6 Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.84 Chrome 68.0.3440.84
    • View Profile
Clean the Edge connector with a contact cleaner spray. Probably it is a false contact.

It also aids releasing and pluging the card several times.

Observe the pins alignement.


I have cleaned the edge connector on the computer (it was a bit dirty) and taken the controller card in and out several times. Also checked that all the IC's are firmly in socketed and replaced the floppy cable. No change. But thank you for the suggestion :-)

I will try to build same config and look what will happening...

Thank you :-)!

It seems like the LBA connection is lost when I pres F1 or STOP so the computer does not know that there is a disk mounted. At least the LCD screen on the HxC changes from LBA to the normal directory listing when the computer reboots. Can not recall if it is sopposed to do that but I do not think it is.

On the positive side it seems like the problem with the garbled boot screen is gone .... :-)

Here is a short video that demonstrates.

Online Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13429
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
It seems like the LBA connection is lost when I pres F1 or STOP so the computer does not know that there is a disk mounted. At least the LCD screen on the HxC changes from LBA to the normal directory listing when the computer reboots. Can not recall if it is sopposed to do that but I do not think it is.
It is normal, you see the LBA only during the HxC Manager running. When using need to see the mounted disk name...

Offline John Fante

  • User
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: dk
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X Mac OS X
  • Browser:
  • Safari 0.8.2 Safari 0.8.2
    • View Profile
It is normal, you see the LBA only during the HxC Manager running. When using need to see the mounted disk name...

Ok :-)

One question less .... :-)

Online Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13429
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Can you also make images of the current SD card?

Offline John Fante

  • User
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: dk
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6 Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.99 Chrome 67.0.3396.99
    • View Profile
Can you also make images of the current SD card?

Will do that tonight :-)

Offline John Fante

  • User
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: dk
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6 Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.84 Chrome 68.0.3440.84
    • View Profile
Can you also make images of the current SD card?

Here is my present SD-card as an .img file. Takes up a bit under 80MB.

Thank you very much for all you help :smt041

Online Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13429
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
I can reproduce problems...

The selected image not mounted, then the A: will be empty, this is why Not ready error. Need to mount image manually on HxC.

...debugging :oops:

Online Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13429
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Until I find what wrong with your images...
Can you try my image?

Offline John Fante

  • User
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: dk
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6 Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.99 Chrome 67.0.3396.99
    • View Profile
Until I find what wrong with your images...
Can you try my image?

I will give it a go tonight and report back. Thank you!!