Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: Fischertechnik Robot Interface 30520. (Read 1583 times)

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2929
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 72.0 Firefox 72.0
    • View Profile
Re: Fischertechnik Robot Interface 30520.
« Reply #15 on: 2020.February.06. 13:05:09 »
Sorry for the long time not reporting....

The Robot arm and the interface are powered by a ridiculous 7V non stabilised power supply that I don't own nor like. I have found that I can use 9V stabilised instead. So I could use a Enterprise or Spectrum PSU, but I don't want to mix connectors. I also want a powerful one for this project, so I have ordered a Chinese 5Amp PSU.

I have the parallel cable fixed and ready, but I have to inspect better the robot, if it is well mounted.

When I have collected all, first I will test the files found by Werner, he said that they were CP/M(ISDOS) commands.  

Then I will start doing Basic+Machine-Code tests.
« Last Edit: 2020.February.06. 13:12:29 by gflorez »

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2929
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 72.0 Firefox 72.0
    • View Profile
Re: Fischertechnik Robot Interface 30520.
« Reply #16 on: 2020.February.09. 01:05:51 »
At last I have received the Chinese PSU, so it is time to move.

I have checked the robot arm thoroughly. Now I can say that all is correctly mounted and complete, not so easy as it seems, hundred of little parts, and the instruction book poorly detailed on some steps.

But I can also say that it has never worked. All the effort and caution put on the assembly by the owner was not hold on the wiring phase. As a result, some of the leads are shorter than needed, directed through the wrong hole, or connected on  the incorrect motor, sensor or switch.

Then, I have had a nice afternoon fixing the jungle of leads, at the end not so difficult, but I can understand the frustration of accomplishing the task without some knowledge.

Next, I have tried to feed the 4 motors with the PSU, first to one side and then to the other inverting the polarity, perfect.

One minor problem has appeared when I have feed correctly the robot arm with the PSU trough the FischerTechnick interface: one of the motor driver chips on the interface is stuck and one of the motors is always turning. This is unusual because I still have not connected the EP to the set.

I have checked the components near the motor driver chip and I have found a burned diode. I have de-soldered the component and this is a picture of the zone:

24317-0

I don't have components at my house, so more on Monday.

Offline BruceTanner

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 515
  • Country: gb
  • OS:
  • Linux (Ubuntu) Linux (Ubuntu)
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 72.0 Firefox 72.0
    • View Profile
Re: Fischertechnik Robot Interface 30520.
« Reply #17 on: 2020.February.10. 12:54:48 »
I hope the IC is not damaged too, it might be difficult to get a new one.

I was interested to see what that IC does, but I could not find any information.

But then I discovered the part number is TLE4201S1, not TLE420ISI as it looks (ie. one-sss-one at the end.)

So now that I have found it, I might as well post the datasheet here in case you do not have it. On page 554 (:lol: it starts at page 551 :lol:) there is an example circuit with four diodes...

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2929
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 72.0 Firefox 72.0
    • View Profile
Re: Fischertechnik Robot Interface 30520.
« Reply #18 on: 2020.February.10. 19:22:01 »
It is a motor driver. I think it is not damaged. I am going to substitute all 16 diodes, because almost all have bad aspect.
« Last Edit: 2020.February.10. 19:41:23 by gflorez »

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2929
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 72.0 Firefox 72.0
    • View Profile
Re: Fischertechnik Robot Interface 30520.
« Reply #19 on: 2020.February.11. 13:17:19 »
Good news!

It seems that the interface works, but I have to  investigate more.

I have loaded the Teach.com app(from the Werner files) on IS-DOS, and this screen appears:

24334-0

I can understand more or less because the menu is mid English mid German. So I have pressed T, and this is what has happened!

I have switched off all after this attempt, because I still don't know if the rotation of the motors is on the correct gender, or if the numerous switches and sensors are correctly wired. But I think it is a very good start.

Edit: the program has a lot of sub-menus. I will try to translate it to English with an Hex editor.
« Last Edit: 2020.February.11. 16:27:14 by gflorez »

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2929
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 72.0 Firefox 72.0
    • View Profile
Re: Fischertechnik Robot Interface 30520.
« Reply #20 on: 2020.February.12. 16:49:20 »
Sadly, only one Driver chip works, so I have localised and order some of them in China.

Offline szipucsu

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 8583
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 72.0 Firefox 72.0
    • View Profile
    • Webnyelv.hu - Tanuljunk nyelveket!
Re: Fischertechnik Robot Interface 30520.
« Reply #21 on: 2020.February.13. 10:34:10 »
I can understand more or less because the menu is mid English mid German. So I have pressed T, and this is what has happened!
It is cool!
Anyway, English and German? The word "modus" seems Latin. (Just a joke.)
100 SOUND SOURCE 3,STYLE 16,LEFT 16,RIGHT 64,SYNC 2
110 SOUND SOURCE 2,STYLE 128,PITCH 25.2,SYNC 2
120 SOUND PITCH 25,SYNC 2
Videos

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2929
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 72.0 Firefox 72.0
    • View Profile
Re: Fischertechnik Robot Interface 30520.
« Reply #22 on: 2020.February.13. 12:20:33 »
The Chinese chips will slowly arriving, so meanwhile I will try Turbo Pascal on IS-DOS, luckily we have the corrupted .PAS source and a .BAK.

----

Yes, curiously the German language maintains the verb as the last word on a sentence, just like the goodly spoken English.

Offline tofro

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Country: de
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.15.2 Mac OS X 10.15.2
  • Browser:
  • Safari 13.0.4 Safari 13.0.4
    • View Profile
Re: Fischertechnik Robot Interface 30520.
« Reply #23 on: 2020.February.13. 19:36:11 »
They've kept the menu initials in English, apparently.

It is (from top to bottom)

"Teach", "Run", "Save", "Load", "Home", "End"

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2929
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 72.0 Firefox 72.0
    • View Profile
Re: Fischertechnik Robot Interface 30520.
« Reply #24 on: 2020.February.14. 10:51:52 »
Yes, probably they have translated from English.

Maybe we all together can make a better translation, I have put here the German text:

Diskettenfehler!
Dreiachsiger Trainingsroboter
Teach-In Verfahren
auf      -       zu
Altes Teach Programm loeschen (j/n)
J/N   ------> Y/N
Roboter faehrt in Heimposition
Tastenfunktion:    Position (Soll/Ist):
1 Roboter nach links
2 Roboter nach rechts
3 Oberarm vor
4 Oberarm zurueck
5 Unterarm ab
6 Unterarm auf
7 Zange auf
8 Zange zu
Schrittweiten
Zeitkonstante Greifzange +/-     sec
Z 256 Segmente
X 64 Segmente
C 16 Segmente
V 8 Segmente
B 4 Segmente
M Menue
H Heimposition
ENTER Lerne
ERASE Loeschen
Nr.  Dreh     Oarm      Uarm     Zange
Ausfuehrmodus
Wieviele Durchlaeufe:
Teach-In Tabelle (Durchlauf
Teach Programm auf Diskette abspeichern
Datei-Name:
Teach Programm von Diskette laden
T Roboter Teach-In Modus
R Teach Programm ausfuehren
S Teach Programm abspeichern
L Teach Programm laden
H Heimposition anfahren
E Programmende
Sind Sie sicher (j/n)




Offline tofro

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Country: de
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 72.0 Firefox 72.0
    • View Profile
Re: Fischertechnik Robot Interface 30520.
« Reply #25 on: 2020.February.14. 16:47:05 »
Just one correction:

Replace "Zange" and "Greifzange" with "Greifer"

And propose to change "R", "S", "L" with "Gelerntes Programm ausf├╝hren"/"abspeichern"/"laden"


Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2929
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 72.0 Firefox 72.0
    • View Profile
Re: Fischertechnik Robot Interface 30520.
« Reply #26 on: 2020.February.14. 19:13:19 »
Thanks, but.... I intend to translate it all to English. I can maintain a fixed German version in case somebody more wants to play with the FischerTechnik interface.

My final objective is to do the Basic+MC version, that will be more usable than this program.
« Last Edit: 2020.February.14. 19:37:56 by gflorez »

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 13718
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 73.0 Firefox 73.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Fischertechnik Robot Interface 30520.
« Reply #27 on: 2020.February.16. 14:25:48 »
So I have pressed T, and this is what has happened!
It is simply amazing! Something that we have never seen, now over decades and over many country borders starts working again! :smt038
« Last Edit: 2020.February.16. 16:22:45 by szipucsu »