ENTERPRISE KLUB
2018. május 26., 1065 Budapest, Révay utca 14., 14-19 óráig.
Részletek
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: Enterprise Power module - EPower (Read 1283 times)

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 608
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
Enterprise Power module - EPower
« on: 2018.January.30. 10:54:55 »
A few days ago, Zozo asked me about the possibility of building a replacement for the 7805 stabilizers in EP.
There are many cheap replacements available, but most of them are of very poor quality.
They are in themselves a risk of damaging the EP.
I looked closely at the motherboard and the existing power circuits.
If we remove all the elements that we want to replace with the new solution, there is a lot of space left on the mainboard.
Initially I drew a PCB with a complete + 5V and + 12V power supply matching the emptied space.
I still have to make a template and try on the real mainboard (mainly to check the height).

Online Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 12818
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 52.0 Firefox 52.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Enterprise Power module - EPower
« Reply #1 on: 2018.January.30. 11:22:05 »
:smt038 :smt038 :smt038

Online Tutus

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 337
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13 Mac OS X 10.13
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
    • Enterpress News
Re: Enterprise Power module - EPower
« Reply #2 on: 2018.January.30. 21:19:33 »
:bow: :bow: :bow:

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 608
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Power module - EPower
« Reply #3 on: 2018.February.06. 13:01:19 »
We'll see what comes out.
PCB samples on the way.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 608
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Power module - EPower
« Reply #4 on: 2018.February.14. 18:50:30 »
Almost good. Almost ...
I have mistaken in the order for the main stabilizer. I've ordered type for bad voltage :(
So we'll have to wait for the tests for a while.
At now only the 12V supply part is working properly.
It looks like it will fit :)

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 608
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 59.0 Firefox 59.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Power module - EPower
« Reply #5 on: 2018.April.19. 06:51:07 »
Yesterday I did tests of EPower module under load.
In the original Enterprise power system there are 12V@0.15A and 2 channel of 5V@1A power supply.
The module has three power sources: 12V@0.8A and 2 times 5V@2A.
The limits 12V@1,2A, 5V@2,5A (both 5A+5B @4,5A). This is much more than an original power supply can provide :)

In the module, I overloaded the 12V output with current 1A and the diode in the step-up converter warmed up a bit (only it).
One 5V output was load with 2A current. Within 10 minutes of work, without a heat sink, the temperature reached less than 40 degrees celsius :ds_icon_cheesygrin:
I have only one artificial load system, so I did not test both 5V outputs simultaneously, but the single output provides the same power as the entire original circuit.

Now it's time to mount the module in EP.

Online Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 12818
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 52.0 Firefox 52.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Enterprise Power module - EPower
« Reply #6 on: 2018.April.19. 08:11:50 »
It is sounds good!

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 608
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 59.0 Firefox 59.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Power module - EPower
« Reply #7 on: 2018.April.22. 11:23:25 »
Mounted.
Stabilizer temperature below 40 degrees Celsius (without heatsink).
The most difficult thing to do is mount the heat sink. The stabilizer is mounted as low as possible, and yet it is slightly higher than in the original.
Maybe it is not very elegant, but I cut the mounting hole and the fragment of the casing and changed the screw to one with a smaller head.

Pins fit perfectly to the fields on the board.
After removing the elements, you need to thoroughly clean the holes from tin. Especially those with a small diameter, under TR2 transistor and 78L12 stabilizer.
From the EP board remain some parts :D

Online Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 12818
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 59.0 Firefox 59.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Enterprise Power module - EPower
« Reply #8 on: 2018.April.22. 11:39:59 »
Wow!!! Wonderful! :smt038
Exactly what I'm dreamed! :ds_icon_cheesygrin:

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 608
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 59.0 Firefox 59.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Power module - EPower
« Reply #9 on: 2018.April.22. 11:51:34 »
There is only one small problem. It is not cheap :(
The cost of parts and PCB is almost 30 EUR (of which more than half are two stabilizer chips LM2679 and LM2585).

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2190
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Unknown Unknown
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 59.0 Firefox 59.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Power module - EPower
« Reply #10 on: 2018.April.22. 12:14:12 »
It is still good for a reparation, not for a conversion.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 608
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 59.0 Firefox 59.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Power module - EPower
« Reply #11 on: 2018.April.22. 16:00:22 »
Somebody needs ?
I have 9 PCBs yet, but I don't know if they worth assemblies.

Online geco

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 4827
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 59.0 Firefox 59.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Power module - EPower
« Reply #12 on: 2018.April.22. 19:53:03 »
Somebody needs ?
I have 9 PCBs yet, but I don't know if they worth assemblies.
I would buy one :)

Online Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 12818
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 59.0 Firefox 59.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Enterprise Power module - EPower
« Reply #13 on: 2018.April.22. 20:05:10 »
I also need one.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 608
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 59.0 Firefox 59.0
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Power module - EPower
« Reply #14 on: 2018.April.22. 20:12:50 »
OK, let you know when they will be ready :)