Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: Creating EXDOS card clone (Read 21511 times)

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 673
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #135 on: 2018.July.31. 17:02:05 »
I checked only the read and write. I did not check FORMAT :oops:
I will check.

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2330
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #136 on: 2018.July.31. 20:43:46 »
Documentation about it? :oops:

It seems that the flashed Gotek will load the settings stored on its FlashRom, unless it finds the FF.CFG file on the root directory or the FF/ subfolder, that have new settings that will become the new default configs and will be stored on the FlashRom.  Once done we can delete or hide the FF.CFG file.

Here you can find the possible options and defaults.

Also, in this page it is explained the three working modes of the firmware, the HxC mode left as a legacy mode,  for Amiga, Atari ST, CPC and others.   

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 12985
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #137 on: 2018.July.31. 20:54:47 »
Here you can find the possible options and defaults.

Also, in this page it is explained the three working modes of the firmware, the HxC mode left as a legacy mode,  for Amiga, Atari ST, CPC and others.
What I want to know: how change the mounted images from the host computer?

Probably you put a HXCSDFE.CFG then it is can be used?


Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2330
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #138 on: 2018.July.31. 21:29:09 »
I think you must study the da.c file.

Keir claims the he has not changed the HxC mode, so probably the flashed Gotek uses the HXCSDFE.CFG file the same. If it doesn't finds the file it switches to native mode or indexed mode.

Online tofro

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: de
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6 Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Browser:
  • Safari 11.1.2 Safari 11.1.2
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #139 on: 2018.July.31. 22:29:09 »
What I want to know: how change the mounted images from the host computer?

Here's the Manual:

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_drive_emulator/SDCard_HxC_Floppy_Emulator_Direct_Access_mode.pdf

You "move" the "head" to track 255, this switches the HxC to a special mode.
"Sector" 0 on "Track" 255 will then give you access to a status/control sector you can read and write to. Use the "struct direct_access_cmd_sector_" to write command 4 (SELECT_IMAGE_INDEX) with an appropriate image index.
Wait for one index pulse from the disk, then read sector 0 again to verify your command has been executed.

Once you "move" the "head" back to track 0, the image should be selected.

Using other commands, you can even achieve full LBA access to the complete SD card.

Tobias
« Last Edit: 2018.July.31. 22:34:59 by tofro »

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 673
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #140 on: 2018.August.01. 21:08:15 »
I checked only the read and write. I did not check FORMAT :oops:
I will check.
I checked.
Formatting works :)

Is 353 KB free the correct result ?

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 12985
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #141 on: 2018.August.01. 21:24:01 »
Is 353 KB free the correct result ?
Only if you use 360K drive :oops:
Which drive used?

I already found bug(?) in EXDOS, when checking SD/DD. But it is usually at old drives with head settle mechanism. Some of these drives don't execute stepping until the head loaded. Then the first few step in command lost, and when counting back the tracks got a false result, then detect as SD drive.
My trick for these drive: :DIR, then write the :FORMAT command under the results, go back with the cursor, press ENTER again on the DIR and at the end immediately and quickly press ENTER on FORMAT, and Yes on the question. If you do it before the motor stopped, then the FORMAT started on the fly, and the drive detected correctly.

In the FAFO I handled this situation (do one read before SD/DD detection). This is the one of the reasons why I started write my own formating program.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 673
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #142 on: 2018.August.01. 21:32:27 »
This is a 3.5 "DD / HD drive with a DD diskette.
Tomorrow I will try your trick.
Earlier, I did not pay attention to the capacity after formatting, but it seems to me that with the WD1772 chip was the same result.

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 12985
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #143 on: 2018.August.01. 21:34:13 »
This is a 3.5 "DD / HD drive with a DD diskette.
Which model? I will try to check same.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 673
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Unknown Unknown
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 62.0 Firefox 62.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #144 on: 2018.August.01. 21:59:52 »
Samsung B321 or something similar.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 673
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #145 on: 2018.August.03. 20:31:05 »
With the trick works better - 712 KB free.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 673
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #146 on: 2018.August.05. 19:32:15 »
I tested today the FORMAT command on another card with the original WD1772.
The behavior is identical. The first FORMAT gives the result of 353 KB, and the second (with the trick) of 712 KB.

Offline Dr.OG

  • EP fan
  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Country: hu
  • dr.
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.99 Chrome 67.0.3396.99
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #147 on: 2018.August.06. 05:55:20 »
I use FAFO25, this works always flawless without tricking.
ÉN ekelek, TE keregsz, Ő gyeleg,
MI ákolunk, TI vornyáztok, ŐK lendeznek.

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 12985
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #148 on: 2018.August.06. 11:45:32 »
I tested today the FORMAT command on another card with the original WD1772.
The behavior is identical. The first FORMAT gives the result of 353 KB, and the second (with the trick) of 712 KB.
It is looks the know slow-drive-DD-detection bug, not releated about the controller type.

I use FAFO25, this works always flawless without tricking.
:ds_icon_cheesygrin:
As I wrote previously, I added workaround to the FAFO avoid this problem.

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 12985
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 61.0 Firefox 61.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #149 on: 2018.August.14. 20:49:32 »
The EXDOS Compact card without the WD1772 chip costs 49 EUR.
Can I ask a prices without ROM chip and 1772? And full complete with 256K Flash and 1772?