Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: Creating EXDOS card clone (Read 14835 times)

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 560
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #90 on: 2018.February.06. 20:53:53 »
I've redesigned the project. Now is DIP32 socket with config jumpers.
You can use EPROM, EEPROM, Flash ROM in DIP28 or DIP32 enclosures.
EPROM: 27C128, 27C256, 27C512, 27C010, 27C020
EEPROM: 28C256
E2EPROM: W27E040 (low half only)
FlashROM: 29F010, 29F020, 29F040 (low half only)

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 12714
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 56.0 Firefox 56.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #91 on: 2018.February.06. 22:08:02 »
Perfect!

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 560
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #92 on: 2018.February.07. 10:23:22 »
Hm, just add two more jumpers and SRAM 62256, 618128, AS6C1008, AS6C2008, AS6C4008 (low half) will also fit :)
« Last Edit: 2018.February.07. 11:19:57 by pear »

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2080
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 52.0 Firefox 52.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #93 on: 2018.February.07. 11:04:51 »
Yes, SRAM is also a good option if the EXDOS.Rom is already installed in, for example, the SD cartridge.
« Last Edit: 2018.February.07. 11:08:31 by gflorez »

Offline BruceTanner

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 437
  • Country: gb
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140 Chrome 64.0.3282.140
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #94 on: 2018.February.08. 14:04:12 »
Just so that you are aware: current versions of EXDOS will not run from FLASH if write is enabled because it does a write to its "ROM" assuming it is harmless. :roll: (and EXOS does the same!).

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 560
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #95 on: 2018.February.08. 14:20:54 »
Just turn around P31 jumper from "/WR" to near "1" position to avoid a write :)

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 12714
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 56.0 Firefox 56.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #96 on: 2018.February.08. 18:31:02 »
Just so that you are aware: current versions of EXDOS will not run from FLASH if write is enabled because it does a write to its "ROM" assuming it is harmless. :roll: (and EXOS does the same!).
The problem only with certain FLASH chips which is using page mode (Winbond 29C,29EE and compatibles).
With the "normal" sector based types no problem (I used it many in Enterprise configs. It is also used on the SD interface).