ENTERPRISE KLUB
2018. május 26., 1065 Budapest, Révay utca 14., 14-19 óráig.
Részletek
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: Creating EXDOS card clone (Read 17202 times)

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 606
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #90 on: 2018.February.06. 20:53:53 »
I've redesigned the project. Now is DIP32 socket with config jumpers.
You can use EPROM, EEPROM, Flash ROM in DIP28 or DIP32 enclosures.
EPROM: 27C128, 27C256, 27C512, 27C010, 27C020
EEPROM: 28C256
E2EPROM: W27E040 (low half only)
FlashROM: 29F010, 29F020, 29F040 (low half only)

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 12810
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 56.0 Firefox 56.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #91 on: 2018.February.06. 22:08:02 »
Perfect!

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 606
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #92 on: 2018.February.07. 10:23:22 »
Hm, just add two more jumpers and SRAM 62256, 618128, AS6C1008, AS6C2008, AS6C4008 (low half) will also fit :)
« Last Edit: 2018.February.07. 11:19:57 by pear »

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2187
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 52.0 Firefox 52.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #93 on: 2018.February.07. 11:04:51 »
Yes, SRAM is also a good option if the EXDOS.Rom is already installed in, for example, the SD cartridge.
« Last Edit: 2018.February.07. 11:08:31 by gflorez »

Offline BruceTanner

  • EP user
  • *
  • Posts: 442
  • Country: gb
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140 Chrome 64.0.3282.140
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #94 on: 2018.February.08. 14:04:12 »
Just so that you are aware: current versions of EXDOS will not run from FLASH if write is enabled because it does a write to its "ROM" assuming it is harmless. :roll: (and EXOS does the same!).

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 606
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #95 on: 2018.February.08. 14:20:54 »
Just turn around P31 jumper from "/WR" to near "1" position to avoid a write :)

Offline Zozosoft

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 12810
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 56.0 Firefox 56.0
    • View Profile
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #96 on: 2018.February.08. 18:31:02 »
Just so that you are aware: current versions of EXDOS will not run from FLASH if write is enabled because it does a write to its "ROM" assuming it is harmless. :roll: (and EXOS does the same!).
The problem only with certain FLASH chips which is using page mode (Winbond 29C,29EE and compatibles).
With the "normal" sector based types no problem (I used it many in Enterprise configs. It is also used on the SD interface).

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2187
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 52.0 Firefox 52.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #97 on: 2018.February.22. 19:01:54 »
I have managed to put in this little box a Spanish EXDOS clone and my old HxC...

20449-0

Offline Z80System

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.167 Chrome 64.0.3282.167
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #98 on: 2018.February.22. 21:07:05 »
Quote
I have managed to put in this little box a Spanish EXDOS clone and my old HxC...

Wow. This looks cool ... :)

Z80 System

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 606
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #99 on: 2018.February.23. 08:13:30 »
That's what I planned to do more than a year ago.
Then did not like it, but I'm going to come back to this idea.

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2187
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 52.0 Firefox 52.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #100 on: 2018.February.23. 11:08:48 »
I have made it in a cheap basis, a friend gifted me the bare board, then the components cost me about 20 Euro, and the box 5. Also, I have owned the HxC for about five years, with very little use since I have the SD reader cartridge.

At first the box only housed the EXDOS card with a lot of spare space(it has exactly the height of the Enterprise) and I used to put the HxC over the case.

I have to say, this EXDOS card was tailored to fit exactly on that box. It is one of the two separate series of EXDOS cards made by Spanish Enterprise users following original schematics.

This one has a very compact design, with only through-hole components.



« Last Edit: 2018.February.23. 12:11:38 by gflorez »

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2187
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Unknown Unknown
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #101 on: 2018.March.03. 11:43:45 »
Wilco2009, the dessigner of this compact EXDOS clone, is modifying it for use with a Bridge connector or a bus expander.

Also, following the schematics of the Hungarian bus expander(and some advices from me) he has designed a compact three slots bus expander and an additional three slots card.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 606
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #102 on: 2018.March.03. 14:33:58 »
Yesterday I ordered 10 pcs of PCBs for my version of the card.

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2187
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #103 on: 2018.March.03. 17:41:05 »
Yes, very good looking!

What Wilco2009(and I) intent is that the same EXDOS PCB design could be used directly on the Enterprise or by the bridge(or bus expander),  connecting pins A4 and B4 on the card to the 5v line, and soldering or not the comb of pins and the 7805 regulator.

Of course, to serve to the purpose, the card has to measure 95mm wide.

Offline pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 606
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 58.0 Firefox 58.0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating EXDOS card clone
« Reply #104 on: 2018.March.03. 18:19:27 »
Pins next to edge connector may be use in two ways.
The first, to connect using the tape to FlexiBridge or second, use it to connect the next card (through the adapter).