Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: 6Mhz and more... (Read 107396 times)

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3612
  • Country: es
    • Támogató Támogató
Re: 6Mhz and more...
« Reply #255 on: 2022.November.08. 15:09:44 »
Micro controllers are not new to the EP, EnterMice or SF3 use them. The Z80 is great, but needs some aid for some demanding tasks.

Joke mode: You are right, the good orthodox side of "The Force" would have been to create an interface so the Z80 could itself manage the clock generator to be enslaved by it.....

Offline Zozosoft

  • Global Moderator
  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 14760
  • Country: hu
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: 6Mhz and more...
« Reply #256 on: 2022.November.08. 15:57:07 »
and optionally the third to replace Nick complicated clock generator (broken L2 and can't get replacement problem).
Successfully tested: Nick can run from external clock source!
[ Guests cannot view attachments ] [ Guests cannot view attachments ]

Just one cut needed for separate the original 14M clock circuit.
[ Guests cannot view attachments ] [ Guests cannot view attachments ]

Kvaczko planning standalone small dauhterboard as Nick clock circuit replacement. Then will be possible repair machines with broken L2.
[ Guests cannot view attachments ] [ Guests cannot view attachments ]

The planned turbo card also will have a Nick clock option.

Offline ergoGnomik

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 1319
  • Country: hu
  • Stray cat from Commodore alley
Re: 6Mhz and more...
« Reply #257 on: 2022.November.09. 11:57:51 »
@gflorez: I do understand that. All I wanted to do was drawing attention to the contradiction between using such modern components and his earlier purist statements* in a humorous way.

*Anything built with anything else but TTL circuits is cheating. Discrete logic, ASICs and MPUs are OK, anything programmable is not.

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3612
  • Country: es
    • Támogató Támogató
Re: 6Mhz and more...
« Reply #258 on: 2022.November.09. 12:32:39 »
Yes, exactly the same is what I intended(but didn't manage...) to express following your commentary, sorry. Is for that I pointed that this clock generator is not the first microcontroller-driven device we have accepted. Even the WD177X is a dedicated controller, and the Xilings CPLD on every SD-Cartridge is programmable.

Imagine what the Enterprise would have been if designed on actual FPGAs....



Edit: I forgot the GAL on every Saint's Ram expansion, it is also programmable.
« Last Edit: 2022.November.09. 13:06:59 by gflorez »

Offline Zozosoft

  • Global Moderator
  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 14760
  • Country: hu
    • http://enterprise.iko.hu/
Re: 6Mhz and more...
« Reply #259 on: 2022.November.09. 14:26:10 »
Turbo EXDOS option also tested:
[ Guests cannot view attachments ] [ Guests cannot view attachments ] [ Guests cannot view attachments ]

Offline Zeroperf

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 13
Re: 6Mhz and more...
« Reply #260 on: 2022.December.12. 13:58:03 »
Hello dear improvers opportunities Enterprise 64\128! ;-)  
Is it possible, unless the assembly of Dream Turbo Cards is finally completed, to expand the RAM up to 3 megabytes?
P.S.
I'm sorry if my questions seem too arrogant:упс: ... Is it possible, if there is room, add a schematic -
https://gafz.enterpriseforever.com/Hardware/Cooprocessor/cooprocessor.htm
P.P.S.
There is a very interesting board that implements 2:(  megabytes of RAM and several frequencies for the processor and several bios from different clones - though this is a board for the ZX Spectrum ZS 256 Scorpion, but according to the author, this board can be connected to any computer on the Z80 that works on TR-DOS
https://zx-pk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=15566
https://zx-pk.ru/threads/31334-gmx-%28grafic-memory-expander%29-svodnaya-tema.html
« Last Edit: 2022.December.12. 14:16:47 by Zeroperf »

Offline SlashNet

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 1247
  • Country: ua
  • Enterprise 128K | Cubietruck
    • My old site about Enterprise
Re: 6Mhz and more...
« Reply #261 on: 2022.December.12. 15:22:57 »
Hi.
This forum thread is not really appropriate for such topic (here talk about overclocking the Z80 processor), but let me ask you a counter question. What can GMX do that standard Enterprise can't?
Also, Enterprise does not use TR-DOS and it is not a Spectrum-compatible computer.

About RAM expansion we have this thread: https://enterpriseforever.com/interface/internal-memory-expansion/

Offline Zeroperf

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 13
Re: 6Mhz and more...
« Reply #262 on: 2022.December.12. 15:45:29 »
I'm not advertising GMX, I just noticed the similarity of the solutions, nothing more)) On this Dream Turbo Cards board, in addition to changing the processor frequencies, as far as I understand, memory expansion by 1 or 2 megabytes is optional. I suggested that it's too small - to make 3 megabytes. Well, the Coprocessor, this is also welcome.
If the coprocessor is not implemented in this board in any way. At least it's a memory:)

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3612
  • Country: es
    • Támogató Támogató
Re: 6Mhz and more...
« Reply #263 on: 2022.December.12. 15:50:35 »
The Enterprise can address up to 4MB of mixed Ram or Rom on 16KB chunks. Every possible chunk is numbered from 00h to FFh, and the Enterprise pagination system can put any of these 256x16KB chunks on any order, and even repeated on each one of the 4x16KB pages of the Z80 64KB memory range. This is, the 4MB pagination comes internally from stock.

I have no information, sorry, but I doubt that the Scorpion memory pagination could be easily adapted to the Enterprise.

Actually there is no problem on expanding the Enterprise memory, internally or externally, with even some cheap do-it-yourself projects available.(click above on the link on SlashNet's commentary)
 
And about the Enterprise turbo-hack, there are some information here in this thread. It is not new on Hungary to use a 6Mhz clock signal on the stock 4Mhz Z80A, because some processors allow it, but usually the procedure needs the removal of the Z80(it comes soldered to the PCB) to install a faster one, and it is a hard task. Compared to that, adding the required control logic is trivial.

Again, the internal video frequency can be used to speed up the machine to slightly more than 7Mhz, so only the 6Mhz and the 10Mhz options require an additional clock. More than the 10Mhz frequency has been tested, but makes the Enterprise unstable.

I also doubt that the GMX card turbo-mode could be adapted to the Enterprise.

Offline Zeroperf

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 13
Re: 6Mhz and more...
« Reply #264 on: 2022.December.12. 16:11:40 »
I already wrote in a personal in that thread.
And the same GMX board has only 2 modes, normal and turbo at 7 megahertz. So she loses a few. It is clear that simply inserting a board and getting a miracle will not work, you will have to programmatically try to solve everything. It works not only with TR-DOS but also with EX-DOS.
Agree to build a barricade of separate boards for expanding the RAM, for connecting a coprocessor, for the same turbo mode - more than ugly.
Therefore, my question is the same - is it possible on this card - which is described in the branch - to implement 3 megabytes (at least for RAM-disks) and a coprocessor.
If not, I'm sorry to bother you:oops:

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3612
  • Country: es
    • Támogató Támogató
Re: 6Mhz and more...
« Reply #265 on: 2022.December.12. 16:50:06 »
Your questions are welcome.

The link to an Enterprise coprocessor you have put was a hobbyist  maths co-processor project, it used a classic-time chip(80's),  and it was never included on Basic or EXOS, only limited to tests.

Lately I have seen some R-pi or FPGA expansion projects on the MSX or CPC scenes, used as co-processors, but they are very tied to the developer desires due to the complexity. I think they are not intended for an average user....

Would the R-pi or FPGA speed-up your computer on classic applications? I doubt it. Only few new programmed apps will benefit from the new added hardware.

About how much Ram is needed..... Like you I prefer ALL possible... but the reality is that on the Enterprise scene there are only a few programs that need more than 500KB.

Offline geco

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 7172
  • Country: hu
    • Támogató Támogató
Re: 6Mhz and more...
« Reply #266 on: 2022.December.13. 09:09:19 »
Here you can find a ready memory expansion, it is only 1 MB, but can be expanded to max 4 MB

Memory expansion 1-4MB