Enterprise Forever

:UK => Emulators => Topic started by: jonesypeter on 2016.February.23. 19:27:21

Title: ep128emu
Post by: jonesypeter on 2016.February.23. 19:27:21
Hi,

I appreciate development of ep128emu has stalled, but I had a couple of questions:

Would it be possible to consider a 'Portable' Windows version? So it does not need installing?

Has anyone had success compiling a Raspberry Pi version?  I wanted to suggest to the RetroPie project the idea of including it?

Thanks
Title: Re: ep128emu
Post by: geco on 2016.February.24. 08:39:07
As I remember if you have an installed version, you can copy it to other computers, and it will work, only the folder PATHes should be updated in config files.
Title: Re: ep128emu
Post by: IstvanV on 2016.February.24. 09:24:51
New configuration files (with the correct paths) can be created by running the "makecfg" utility included with the emulator. It also extracts the ep128emu_roms.bin (http://ep128emu.enterpriseforever.com/roms/ep128emu_roms.bin) package if it has been copied to the directory where the ROM files need to be installed.
Title: Re: ep128emu
Post by: jonesypeter on 2016.February.24. 21:08:23
Hi IstvanV. Thanks for the detailed reply. I will give that a go tonight. Peter
Title: Re: ep128emu
Post by: gflorez on 2016.November.29. 11:01:57
I am searching in the options how slot 0 and 1 are emulated, but it seems that only slot 0(micro SD) is managed.
Title: Re: ep128emu
Post by: IstvanV on 2016.November.29. 11:05:34
I am searching in the options how slot 0 and 1 are emulated, but it seems that only slot 0(micro SD) is managed.

Yes, currently only one SD card can be emulated. If it is of any use, I can build a modified version of the emulator that uses the other slot (still only one card).

By the way, it is a rather late reply, but:
Would it be possible to consider a 'Portable' Windows version? So it does not need installing?
You can unpack the Windows installer with 7-Zip (http://7-zip.org/) (which is said to support NSIS installers), although I did not try this myself.
Title: Re: ep128emu
Post by: gflorez on 2016.November.29. 11:47:53
Ok. Thanks, but I'm not in a hurry with that, it only was curiosity. Maybe in your next version you can add the other slot.
Title: Re: ep128emu
Post by: gflorez on 2016.November.30. 15:11:37
Another suggestion for the next version: Can the debugger window be made scalable?

I have a little laptop with low resolution where the bottom of the window is cut, so I can't run an app step by step, I can't see the lower buttons.
Title: Re: ep128emu
Post by: IstvanV on 2016.December.02. 10:30:53
Another suggestion for the next version: Can the debugger window be made scalable?

I can try adding that, but it may be problematic. It could be as simple as setting the "resizeable" flag on the window, and in theory FLTK automatically resizes all the widgets on the window, but the result looks ugly if the window is resized by a significant amount. The original size (960x720) was chosen for compatibility with 1024x768 displays (1366x768 is common on laptops), and the resizing begins to cause issues below a height of 700 pixels: the bottom row in the disassembler is cut off. Thus, the code would need to be changed in various places to account for the size changes, as the layout of all the register, memory and other displays on the first page is currently hard-coded. On the other hand, it would also be useful to be able to see more rows on a larger display, even on a 1920x1080 desktop monitor, the emulator windows look small, and then some people have 3840x2160 displays. :)

By the way, I found and fixed (on Git) a bug in the PNG image saving: it writes corrupt output when a block is uncompressed. This is rather unlikely to happen, however, in Enterprise emulation mode I was not able to trigger the bug even intentionally (with a 2-color interlaced 46x288 IVIEW image that contained random data), because some compression was always achieved.
Title: Re: ep128emu
Post by: gflorez on 2020.December.07. 17:22:13
I have found an annoying issue on the help messages on the emulator's debugger monitor, page 2.

If you execute "?", a list of the available commands is printed on the screen.

Then, if "?F" is executed, the syntax of the F command is shown.

But I have found that the subsequent commands help doesn't return the syntax, only a ? without more effect.

The G,H, etc commands execution seem to work, but I can't use some of them because a lot of parameters are needed and I can't add their correct position.

Is there some place to consult the syntaxis of these valuable commands?
Title: Re: ep128emu
Post by: elmer on 2020.December.07. 17:47:01
If you execute "?", a list of the available commands is printed on the screen.

Then, if "?F" is executed, the syntax of the F command is shown.

But I have found that the subsequent commands help doesn't return the syntax, only a ? without more effect.

You need to add a space between the "?" and the command that you want help for ... so "? S" to get the help information for the "Save Memory" command.
Title: Re: ep128emu
Post by: gflorez on 2020.December.07. 18:51:07
Ah, great. Thanks.

The fact is that the help works without the space on the first commands of the list until F.