Enterprise Forever

:UK => Emulators => Topic started by: John Fante on 2007.May.04. 17:25:54

Title: ep128emu question
Post by: John Fante on 2007.May.04. 17:25:54
I just found the ep128emu. Very nice. Takes me back to the old days. Back then I both had a 64 a 128, floppydrive, spectrum emulator (both the a-studio version and the beta version of the Box-Soft version - witch was better), and lots of software. Sadly I sold it way back. :-(

ep128emu looks nice. I am running the X64 linux version on my Suse 10.2 box.

I have a questions thou. How do I make diskimages?

I can access my real drive with no problem and also make tape images. But diskimages would be a bit easier.

Right now I am playing the 128 version of Out of this World. Still got it :-)
Title: Re: ep128emu question
Post by: IstvanV on 2007.May.04. 19:10:00
I just found the ep128emu. Very nice. Takes me back to the old days. Back then I both had a 64 a 128, floppydrive, spectrum emulator (both the a-studio version and the beta version of the Box-Soft version - witch was better), and lots of software. Sadly I sold it way back. :-(

ep128emu looks nice. I am running the X64 linux version on my Suse 10.2 box.
I have a questions thou. How do I make diskimages?
I can access my real drive with no problem and also make tape images. But diskimages would be a bit easier.

There are some disk images included with the emulator in disk.zip. These can be mounted as a loop device on Linux, for example:
Code: [Select]
mount floppy_a /mnt/floppy -t msdos -o loop
Make sure however that the disk image is not mounted while you have it also opened in the emulator.

To create new floppy images instead of using those in disk.zip, you can for example use the mtools package. First, create an empty file with the desired size:
Code: [Select]
dd if=/dev/zero of=floppy.img bs=1024 count=1440
This can be formatted with 'mformat', but you need to add a line like this to /etc/mtools.conf first:
Code: [Select]
drive x: file="floppy.img" mformat_only
Then run 'mformat':
Code: [Select]
mformat -t 80 -h 2 -n 18 -v EP_FLOPPY x:
Change the value for -n to 9 when formatting a 720k disk image. EP_FLOPPY can be replaced with any volume label to be used.
Title: Re: ep128emu question
Post by: John Fante on 2007.June.05. 16:00:59
Strange problems with ep128emu X64 linux version.

I have had to reinstall my system  :cry:

Now I cannot access my floppy drive.

When I tell it to use "/dev/fd/0" I get "wd177x cannot determine size of disk image"

Any ideas?

Title: Re: ep128emu question
Post by: IstvanV on 2007.June.05. 16:50:32
When I tell it to use "/dev/fd/0" I get "wd177x cannot determine size of disk image"

Did you really intend to use /dev/fd/0 ? On my machine this device does not seem to have much to do with floppy drives. It is probably best to use devices like /dev/fd0u720 etc. (with the correct size selected), or, if the floppy is a standard 1.44MB one, /dev/fd0. Also, make sure that the permissions are correct; I usually have to chmod the device, since by default normal users are not allowed to access it.
Title: Re: ep128emu question
Post by: John Fante on 2007.June.05. 18:03:48
Hi Istvan

It works now. Brain meltdown in my end.

Btw. if you feel like bringing Neos mouse support to ep128emu I would be a happy camper. :ds_icon_cheesygrin:

That would make Paintbox so much funnier.

Thanks for an already great emulator. Any news?
Title: Re: ep128emu question
Post by: IstvanV on 2007.June.05. 21:07:42
I may try implementing mouse emulation, but is there some hardware information available ?
Title: Re: ep128emu question
Post by: John Fante on 2007.June.07. 21:39:54
I just made a small post in the Box-Soft topic that described the interface.

In the manual for Painbox there are some code-examples for using the NEOS mouse in your own programs. Maby that can give you a clue on how it works.

Good luck!
Title: Re: ep128emu question
Post by: Zozosoft on 2007.November.05. 19:52:06
New version: 2.0.4 (http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=128766&package_id=223923&release_id=551815) released.
Title: Re: ep128emu question
Post by: John Fante on 2007.November.07. 20:54:29
Cool. Looking forward to test it out :-D
Title: Re: ep128emu question
Post by: mapesdhs on 2007.November.19. 23:23:57
IstvanV writes:
> least one unix platform, and may also have better emulation accuracy. However, compiling
> on SGI may still be problematic, but with some luck you could get the older version 1.6.1 to
> run (SDL (http://www.libsdl.org/) and the GNU development tools are needed). The
> 2.x versions are more advanced, but have more dependencies, and would probably not work.

There do seem to be a fair number of depencies, but what the heck, I'll try anyway when I can
find the time. GNU/etc. tools are not a problem on SGIs, all the usual Linux freeware is available
via nekochan.net.

Thanks!

ian.

Title: Re: ep128emu question
Post by: IstvanV on 2007.November.20. 00:31:20
There do seem to be a fair number of depencies, but what the heck, I'll try anyway when I can
find the time. GNU/etc. tools are not a problem on SGIs, all the usual Linux freeware is available
via nekochan.net.

It should probably be possible to get 1.6.1 to compile and run then, since it only depends on SDL, which - according to the documentation - supports SGI. It also uses less CPU time than 2.0.x, for which the FLTK and PortAudio dependencies may be uncertain: these are documented to support "unix" (by using X11/OpenGL, and the OSS /dev/dsp or /dev/audio interface, respectively), but without mentioning specific systems.