Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length


Author Topic: ep128emu (Read 1349 times)

Offline jonesypeter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: gb
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 48.0.2564.103 Chrome 48.0.2564.103
    • View Profile
ep128emu
« on: 2016.February.23. 19:27:21 »
Hi,

I appreciate development of ep128emu has stalled, but I had a couple of questions:

Would it be possible to consider a 'Portable' Windows version? So it does not need installing?

Has anyone had success compiling a Raspberry Pi version?  I wanted to suggest to the RetroPie project the idea of including it?

Thanks
« Last Edit: 2016.February.23. 20:43:45 by jonesypeter »

Offline geco

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 4179
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Linux Linux
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 38.0 Firefox 38.0
    • View Profile
Re: ep128emu
« Reply #1 on: 2016.February.24. 08:39:07 »
As I remember if you have an installed version, you can copy it to other computers, and it will work, only the folder PATHes should be updated in config files.

Offline IstvanV

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3635
  • OS:
  • Linux Linux
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 39.0 Firefox 39.0
    • View Profile
Re: ep128emu
« Reply #2 on: 2016.February.24. 09:24:51 »
New configuration files (with the correct paths) can be created by running the "makecfg" utility included with the emulator. It also extracts the ep128emu_roms.bin package if it has been copied to the directory where the ROM files need to be installed.

Offline jonesypeter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: gb
  • OS:
  • Linux Linux
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 34.0.1847.76 Chrome 34.0.1847.76
    • View Profile
Re: ep128emu
« Reply #3 on: 2016.February.24. 21:08:23 »
Hi IstvanV. Thanks for the detailed reply. I will give that a go tonight. Peter

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 1831
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
Re: ep128emu
« Reply #4 on: 2016.November.29. 11:01:57 »
I am searching in the options how slot 0 and 1 are emulated, but it seems that only slot 0(micro SD) is managed.

Offline IstvanV

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3635
  • OS:
  • Linux Linux
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 49.0 Firefox 49.0
    • View Profile
Re: ep128emu
« Reply #5 on: 2016.November.29. 11:05:34 »
I am searching in the options how slot 0 and 1 are emulated, but it seems that only slot 0(micro SD) is managed.

Yes, currently only one SD card can be emulated. If it is of any use, I can build a modified version of the emulator that uses the other slot (still only one card).

By the way, it is a rather late reply, but:
Would it be possible to consider a 'Portable' Windows version? So it does not need installing?
You can unpack the Windows installer with 7-Zip (which is said to support NSIS installers), although I did not try this myself.
« Last Edit: 2016.November.29. 11:09:15 by IstvanV »

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 1831
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
Re: ep128emu
« Reply #6 on: 2016.November.29. 11:47:53 »
Ok. Thanks, but I'm not in a hurry with that, it only was curiosity. Maybe in your next version you can add the other slot.

Offline gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 1831
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
Re: ep128emu
« Reply #7 on: 2016.November.30. 15:11:37 »
Another suggestion for the next version: Can the debugger window be made scalable?

I have a little laptop with low resolution where the bottom of the window is cut, so I can't run an app step by step, I can't see the lower buttons.

Offline IstvanV

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3635
  • OS:
  • Linux Linux
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 50.0 Firefox 50.0
    • View Profile
Re: ep128emu
« Reply #8 on: 2016.December.02. 10:30:53 »
Another suggestion for the next version: Can the debugger window be made scalable?

I can try adding that, but it may be problematic. It could be as simple as setting the "resizeable" flag on the window, and in theory FLTK automatically resizes all the widgets on the window, but the result looks ugly if the window is resized by a significant amount. The original size (960x720) was chosen for compatibility with 1024x768 displays (1366x768 is common on laptops), and the resizing begins to cause issues below a height of 700 pixels: the bottom row in the disassembler is cut off. Thus, the code would need to be changed in various places to account for the size changes, as the layout of all the register, memory and other displays on the first page is currently hard-coded. On the other hand, it would also be useful to be able to see more rows on a larger display, even on a 1920x1080 desktop monitor, the emulator windows look small, and then some people have 3840x2160 displays. :)

By the way, I found and fixed (on Git) a bug in the PNG image saving: it writes corrupt output when a block is uncompressed. This is rather unlikely to happen, however, in Enterprise emulation mode I was not able to trigger the bug even intentionally (with a 2-color interlaced 46x288 IVIEW image that contained random data), because some compression was always achieved.