Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: Using TFT monitor (Read 1917 times)

Offline Z80System

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3937
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 44.0.2403.157 Chrome 44.0.2403.157
    • View Profile
Using TFT monitor
« on: 2015.August.23. 14:37:49 »
Off topic, I can delete if you would like:

Your monitor solution looks cool (on the videos).
Can you talk about it ?
I always look for a (near perfect) monitor solution ... I have tried many things, but everything has some problem(s) ...

So.
Do you use a TFT with scaler or native ?
Is that a SCART input or VGA input ?
Is that TFT natively support 15KHz or not ?
Is that a real 50Hz configuration or that is only 60Hz (70Hz,75Hz) solution ?

Z80 System

Online pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 794
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 40.0 Firefox 40.0
    • View Profile
Re: Using TFT monitor
« Reply #1 on: 2015.August.23. 15:35:47 »
I use a Chinese converter and an old VGA monitor 15 "LCD (TFT).
The converter is packaged in a housing together with TV tuner (for computers with the RF output).
EP is connected via the homemade SCART cable :)

Offline Z80System

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3937
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 44.0.2403.157 Chrome 44.0.2403.157
    • View Profile
Re: Using TFT monitor
« Reply #2 on: 2015.August.23. 15:42:42 »
Have this chinese converter a forced deinterlace function (moving things (sprites) will be more blurry than when they are standing) ?

Can it produce 50 Hz or it can oly 60+ Hz resample ?
Z80 System

Online pear

  • EP lover
  • *
  • Posts: 794
  • Country: pl
  • Z80 only
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 40.0 Firefox 40.0
    • View Profile
Re: Using TFT monitor
« Reply #3 on: 2015.August.23. 15:59:08 »
I have not the foggiest idea :)
It works well, so I don't go into details.

Offline Z80System

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3937
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 44.0.2403.157 Chrome 44.0.2403.157
    • View Profile
Re: Using TFT monitor
« Reply #4 on: 2015.August.23. 16:14:32 »
Unfortunately there is a huge difference between well and well ...

On the specification of it, there is not even specified the 15 KHz at RGBHV type inputs:

http://www.coin-selector.com/sdp/775010/4/pd-4068968/8028468-2264941/RGBS_CGA_EGA_YUV_TO_VGA_converter_for_arcade_game.html

and no a word about interlace/progressive or output vertical freq ...


But they have an other thing:

http://www.coin-selector.com/sdp/775010/4/pd-4068968/8029689-2264941/MDA_CGA_EGA_RGB_RGBSog_RGBS_RGBHV_YPbPr_YUV_to_VGA.html

There they fixing the output vertical freq to 60Hz and they mention "progressive and interlaced scanning", maybe that is what I'm wanting ...

Z80 System

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2808
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Unknown Unknown
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 40.0 Firefox 40.0
    • View Profile
Re: Using TFT monitor
« Reply #5 on: 2015.August.23. 16:27:36 »
DB9 sockets tend to be tight when new. With the use they plug softer. I like very much your test....

On the other side with Entermice a user no more will need to disconect the plugs, as every possible controller has its own connector.


------------------

About a monitor I think the best is a "little" 19 inches Lcd 4/3  tv with Scart(RGB) input. They are widely available second-hand. But now almost all new Tvs have 16\9 proportions.

Offline Z80System

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3937
  • Country: hu
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 44.0.2403.157 Chrome 44.0.2403.157
    • View Profile
Re: Using TFT monitor
« Reply #6 on: 2015.August.23. 16:32:32 »
Quote
the best is a "little" 19 inches Lcd 4/3  tv with Scart(RGB) input

Unfortunately I never seen a scart input on TFT monitor which have a scaler electronic with enough good quality (pixels and color gradients are blurry, and poor quality).
Z80 System

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2808
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Unknown Unknown
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 40.0 Firefox 40.0
    • View Profile
Re: Using TFT monitor
« Reply #7 on: 2015.August.23. 23:03:37 »
I'm not talking about that, nor a Pal image can be compared to a Vga one. It isn't a real race.  I already know that a Pc graphics card can show a perfect Pal image, just like the Enterprise does.....

Looking to a Pal video on a Vga monitor gives a false sensation of improvement, pixel accurate but you'll have artifacts on interlaced movement and will lose the dithering that gives more apparent colours.

I was talking about a "kitchen" Lcd Tv. It works in analogic video internally and converts to digital video for output. They usually have a Scart input and the correct 4/3 EP proportion.
« Last Edit: 2015.August.23. 23:45:48 by gflorez »

Online gflorez

  • EP addict
  • *
  • Posts: 2808
  • Country: es
  • OS:
  • Unknown Unknown
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 40.0 Firefox 40.0
    • View Profile
Re: Using TFT monitor
« Reply #8 on: 2015.August.23. 23:19:36 »
You said:

"Unfortunately I never seen a scart input on TFT monitor which have a scaler electronic with enough good quality (pixels and color gradients are blurry, and poor quality).".

You must search the appropriate value for the resistors on your Rgb cable.  Usually Red or Blue signals are saturated. Put a variable resistor on every color and test lowering them.