Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.


Author Topic: Any ideas on cause of this display fault? (Read 869 times)

Online emptiness

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 11
  • OS:
  • Linux (Ubuntu) Linux (Ubuntu)
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 78.0 Firefox 78.0
    • View Profile
Any ideas on cause of this display fault?
« on: 2020.July.19. 15:28:08 »
Now I've got a SCART cable I was able to test my Enterprise 64 and the Enterprise 64 motherboard that I own. Happily, the complete Enterprise 64 appears to work flawlessly. The motherboard looks to have a display fault, however (and since I've tested the complete Enterprise 64 I know it's not the cable or display).

When it starts I can see the coloured "Enterprise" text but there is an issue with horizontal stability. Not sure how to describe it but hopefully the attached video shows what I mean.

Does this look like a capacitor issue? Would be really helpful to know if this fault has been seen before.

The good news is that since it's got as far as displaying a recognisable logo the board is probably in pretty good shape despite having been left as a bare board in storage for many years.

Online emptiness

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 11
  • OS:
  • Linux (Ubuntu) Linux (Ubuntu)
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 78.0 Firefox 78.0
    • View Profile
Re: Any ideas on cause of this display fault?
« Reply #1 on: 2020.July.19. 15:31:56 »
Probably easier to view video on youtube instead of downloading: https://youtu.be/UGOeMwyGJyw

Online emptiness

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 11
  • OS:
  • Linux (Ubuntu) Linux (Ubuntu)
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 78.0 Firefox 78.0
    • View Profile
Re: Any ideas on cause of this display fault?
« Reply #2 on: 2020.July.19. 15:35:50 »
If it helps, the name on the motherboard is "Flan" which I understand means it's a rev4 board.

Online emptiness

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 11
  • OS:
  • Linux (Ubuntu) Linux (Ubuntu)
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 78.0 Firefox 78.0
    • View Profile
Re: Any ideas on cause of this display fault?
« Reply #3 on: 2020.July.19. 15:42:31 »
Sorry, for the multiple posts. Just found this thread: https://enterpriseforever.com/maintenance/enterprise-64-video-issue/

So looks like I should probably try replacing the capacitors and the Tr2 transistor (BC337) as well as checking the 7805 regulators?